Big Garden Finished - September 23, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Big garden  perimeter finished crop Sept. 2020.jpg

On Wednesday after I got the pasture coop moved with my son I went out to the Big garden and started cleaning out the perimeter. My son had weedwacked it a few days before and that sure made a difference. The roots had died back and it made pulling them out easy. I got the whole thing done in 3 hours.

Rugosa rose bed half done crop Sept. 2020.jpg

I rewarded myself by weeding the half of the rugosa rose bed that was in the shade. It was 11:30 and the sun was starting to get hot and I was tired so I didn’t finish.

Filling jars in early morning glow crop Sept. 2020.jpg

Each morning for the last week, as I unload the dehydrators and the sun comes up, it fills the kitchen with a beautiful glow through the plastic. I tried to capture it but…

Small garden  acorns2 crop Sept. 2020.jpg

Every year I put tarps down to catch the huge acorn crop from the white oak. White oak acorns sprout as soon as they hit the ground. By spring they can have a 12” tap root. This year the black plastic is still down, as I’ve not found mulch yet.

Small garden  acorns1 crop Sept. 2020.jpg

As I was taking this picture, a chipmunk was under the plastic, racing along the wrinkles. As I watched, I saw where they’ve chewed holes so they can peek out. Sigh….chipmunks!

David's target Sept. 2020.jpg

He hadn't shot the crossbow in at least 3 years. The battery was still good in the Aim-Point. He let 4 go at about 30 paces. The stand is up, the branches trimmed, he has his doe permit, and the bow is set. On Thursday morning there were 7 deer in the back pasture…