Cleaning the Pantry - July 25, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Pantry - cleaning and shelf paper crop July 2021.jpg

Sunday morning I’d not slept well and it was also the 7 months anniversary since my husband died. So I wasn’t moving very fast. My new cleaning woman arrived at 8AM and we got started on the rainy morning.

The job was to take everything off the shelves, wash or wipe the dust/dirt off, and then put down shelf paper. I had new window shade material I’d been given in 2007 when we got new window shades made. It was plenty wide enough to do the bottom shelf. It’s heavy duty and easily cleaned. And I had just enough thumbtacks on hand to do that part.

Pantry - no thumbtacks1 crop July 2021.jpg

The rest of the shelves would get contact paper. We got it on, but I left the long bits until I could get more thumbtacks. We’d decided to leave the backing on and thumbtack it down. I also set about reorganizing, as I couldn’t get all the things I’d wanted in a shelf. The enamelware ended up on the top shelf with the empty tins.

The plastic storage stuff ended up on the tops of the tall cabinets. It all just fit.

Pantry - no thumbtacks2 crop July 2021.jpg

We made it this far and allowed time to clean up the mess we’d made before she had to go at 1PM.

She will be back mid morning on Monday and we will keep going and see if we can finish. I plan to pick green beans while it’s cool, then work some more on the New South garden. The humidity and heat has returned, so I doubt I’ll make it much past 8AM, once the sun come out.

She leaves about 1PM again and I will process beans then. The carpenter returns from his vacation also.