First Day of Autumn - September 23, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Sorting boxes and bags crop Sept. 2022.jpg

It got real cold on Thursday night and a breeze started up. When my general helper arrived, we decided it was too cold to go out right away. My helper friend had also arrived so I got him to take the book boxes up to the new attic. We also brought down some other boxes and a lot of bags that needed gone through.

Some were just bills and receipts and most were the portfolio for each year of my son’s homeschooling. We got 3 bags done by 9AM and the sun had come out.

East Shed - weedy mess crop Sept. 2022.jpg

We thought starting with the East Shed garden would give us sun and protect us from the wind. The 7 Sisters rose had a huge amount of dead wood in it, in addition to 2 robin’s nests. It stuck way out into the walking areas.

East Shed - pruning in progress crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I took that end of the garden and my helper started at the other one. I took 2 huge sleds of prunings off the rose.

East Shed - pruned 7 Sisters crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Then I wound the long canes into the trellis. There are not a lot of canes left. I hope it recovers next year.

East Shed - cleaned out crop Sept. 2022.jpg

We got the garden cleaned out, and put the last 2 plants, Sweet William, in the little garden by the Tonka garage. A lot of plants had died, either from the weeds or the drought: Siberian wallflower, Sweet William, columbine, a lot of the evening primrose.

Old North - cleaned out crop Sept. 2022.jpg

My helper friend had done the last foliar of the year and had some time left so he roughed out the weeds in the Old North garden. When my helper and I finished the East Shed, we went and finished the Old North pretty quickly.

But we were now in the wind tunnel between buildings and I got chilled, so I quit when we finished. My general helper got started on the next garden.

North Corner - half cleaned out crop Sept. 2022.jpg

She was digging out the anemones that had taken over this garden. Those tiny roots are hard to get all of so she didn’t make the progress she hoped.

I had a BuyNothing pickup, and the contractor came. He plans to start on Monday. I made French toast for supper and watched videos until bedtime.

On Saturday there are more BuyNothing pickups, and I have transcription of the last 2 episodes of Remedy to get done and sent off to people. It’s to be cold again on Friday night, so I won’t be in a hurry to get outside, particularly as I will be working on the north side in the wind tunnel. I may work on the bags some more.

Sort:  

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 9250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more