First Day of Summer - June 21, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

in #homesteading3 years ago (edited)

New Herb - Rows 1 and 2 nearly cleaned out crop June 2021.jpg

I was out at 5:30AM on Monday morning. I had a road trip at 10:30 and wanted to get at least Row 1 cleaned out. I almost managed to finish cleaning out Row 2.

New Herb - Row 2 - what's left crop June 2021.jpg

This little section of Row 2 is what is left. It was 9AM and the humidity was brutal so I quit. I’d had to put down the mulch hay I’d dragged in so I could get the weed sleds out. I’d forgotten to put amendment down so I will have to take the mulch up, do that, and then put the mulch back.

New Herb - Row 3 - what's next crop June 2021.jpg

Row 3 is next and doesn’t look as bad as the first 2 were. A glance at the transplanted borage in Row 6 and it looks like it all died. But I will wait and see.

Bryde - she found a breeze crop June 2021.jpg

I’d closed up the office area and gotten the AC running so there’d be somewhere with lower humidity. But the old cat preferred in front of the back door where a cool breeze was coming in.

On Tuesday I hope to get the first rows amended and planted and mulched. It’s to be cooler, but the humidity is still very high, in the 90’s. rain is coming for late morning, so I need to get out early and get as much done as I can.