House Plant Gardening – February 1, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Ginger2 crop Jan. 2022.jpg

Ginger under lights in the living room

This time of year, most of my gardening, such as it’s been this year, is with house plants inside. My helper friend and I found this ginger where it had been abandoned for months in the cellar, with sprouts coming up.

Ginger1 crop Jan. 2022.jpg

They were about 3” – 4” high at the time, late last summer. I’ve not been good about watering since then, making more of an effort over the last month or so. But the ginger is determined to live and hasn’t done too badly.

Purple jew crop Jan. 2022.jpg

Next to it under the lights, the purple wandering jew apparently adores this spot. I bought a tiny plant a year or so ago, 1 sprig about 5” high. I usually manage to kill purple jews in short order, but not this time.

Boston fern crop Jan. 2022.jpg

This Boston fern was offered on BuyNothing a couple years ago. I never ever thought it would survive here. But so far, it’s hanging in there. I have made a bit of an effort to keep it watered and even remembered to mist it once in a while.

Pineapple crop Jan. 2022.jpg

I started this pineapple from the top of an organic pineapple several years ago. It’s done amazingly well, given the care standards around here.

Cercus and clivia crop Jan. 2022.jpg

These plants have bounced around and are currently living here in the dining room. I hacked off a huge amount of the night blooming cercus on the left and stuffed them in the jar of water. I gave away about half of them to a helper. They’ve been in the jar for 2 or 3 years now.

The clivia on the right I started from seed maybe 15 years ago. When they are fed regularly, which hasn’t happened for a year, they flower regularly.

Dining room plants crop Jan. 2022.jpg

In the window opposite the photo above, I have 3 plants living in water, the 2 on the far left (one hanging) and the one on the far right. The 2 on the left are a mix of cuttings. The right side one is Attar of Roses geranium.

In the middle, left to right: primrose from last year, begonias from the flower beds this fall, and a poinsettia from last year. I cannot believe the primroses are still alive. I usually manage to kill them before I can get them planted outside in the Old North garden.

The begonia had somehow survived a couple frosts before I was able to dig it up. It’s not done very well but is still hanging on. It would do better if I fed it regularly. And the poinsettia is one of 3 I’ve not managed to kill from Christmas 2020. It’s doing the best, the other 2 are hanging on by a thread.

Snake plant and jade crop Jan. 2022.jpg

The bathroom doesn’t have heat of its own. This greenhouse window must get pretty cold at night. But these 3 plants have lived in there for decades. The snake plant on the left gets sunburnt in the summer. The jade plant was given to me by my husband’s grandmother in 1974 for Christmas. And the Moses in the Cradle in the jar of water behind the light has lived there for at least 20 years. There’s also a new African violet on the back of the toilet. It’s not very happy but is still alive.

Arrowhead crop Jan. 2022.jpg

Most of the plants are in the old living room, now office. I’ve had this arrowhead plant for decades. It’s been as much as 3X this size when fed regularly. It’s in a northwest window now. It used to be in the adjacent west window.

Hanging aloe crop Jan. 2022.jpg

That northwest window now has the hanging aloe vera. I swapped them as it was a better fit when I re-organized the room. I have lots of aloes, many in water.

Pothos, spider, aloe crop Jan. 2022.jpg

The middle window in the west wall has one of the variegated pothos, a spider in water, an aloe vera in a big pot, and several cuttings in water. There’s an angel wing begonia, Christmas cactus, arrowhead, and anything else that got cut or broke off.

Begonia, pothos, oxalis, velvet leaf crop Jan. 2022.jpg

The last window, southwest, has the other pothos I just cleaned up last year. In water on the top shelf is a velvet leaf philodendron. On the windowsill, l – r, an angel wing begonia, 2 jars of cuttings in water, and an oxalis. This oxalis flowers all the time, no matter how I care for it.

Hoya crop Jan. 2022.jpg

Going across the south wall of the office this southwest window has a very old hoya. If it’s fed regularly it will flower once or twice a year, large waxy pink flowers.

Ponytail, clivia, philodendron crop Jan. 2022.jpg

The center south window has and old ponytail plant. The ceilings in this room are only 7’ and it’s reached it. It’s started to send out sprouts along the length now and the bottom has several too.

I got the hanging philodendron on BuyNothing and under it is another of the clivias I started from seed.

Cercus, Christmas cactus crop Jan. 2022.jpg

This is the southeast window on that wall. The nightblooming cercus is on the left, the huge Christmas cactus in the middle and a plant I got from Freecycle years ago. I can never remember what its name is. Above them is a spider plant. It’s not fared well this year and is barely alive.

There are lots more plants, 7 or 8 upstairs, but these are the ones I see most often. I’m hoping once I’m feeling better, I can do a better job this year of caring for them.

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Dam that pineapple is looking great, I always hear people starting them like that but never see them when they start to grow, Thanks for sharing

It's the 2nd one I've tried over the years. The first one didn't grow much and eventually died. As I said this was an organic one.

Wow - that's a lot of plants, and some you've had for so long! I'm suprised you haven't named them - or have you?

Have you been feeling poorly?

No, no names besides their own.

Yes, my son gave me covid pneumonia on my birthday, the 17th...

I love your ginger. I got turmeric and ginger outside our house. I might bring them inside too. Greetings!

I was supposed to do turmeric also, but it didn't survive the cellar like the ginger did. Mine ends up in a tiny hoophouse for the summer to protect it from too low temps. I harvest late Sept - early Oct before the first serious frost.

Mine is located in a place where they only get sunlight for about 3 to 4 hours a day (my own estimate).

Love all your house plants and it's really cool that you're growing ginger and pineapple! Awesome!

Love your ginger plant. Ginger is a must in my kitchen so would love to grow one as well. Is it easy to grow it? Just from the sprouts?

Wow... so many plants!!! I love the Hoya, I don't recall having seen that one ever. You have some really nice window spaces too for all those plants.

I wonder if all Aloe can do that hanging thing like yours up there, it's pretty. We're on the road so I can't take a photo of one of our aloe that's really interesting.

Thanks for letting us see all that!

The hoya is a common one, aka rope plant. The aloe does ok hanging, but I had a large branch break off last week. It's in water now.

That always makes more aloe!!! Like we do with our purple wondering Jew... it's everywhere in little jars, growing more roots

Nothing like some greenery to liven up your home and keep a bit of humidity in it too!
I'm impressed with your ginger plants - hopefully it'll give you some ginger roots!
I hope you are feeling better soon so you really can enjoy your indoor garden!