It Didn’t Rain - April 11, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

New South - compost crop April 2021.jpg

The forecast changed and it wasn’t to rain until early afternoon. It hadn’t really cooled down Saturday night so I was able to get outside early and finish the things I’d not gotten done.

First was to get the compost on this big garden. Then I got the North Corner garden mapped. Next I got FlowerTone spread on the 2 Fence gardens I’d cleared. They had gotten compost last year so didn’t need more. (The compost is the expensive stuff with bio-char, a onetime deal.)

Magnolia - flowers open1 crop April 2021.jpg

Because I was working right next to it, I got a photo of the magnolia in full bloom.

Big garden - rhubarb crop April 2021.jpg

Then I remembered I wanted to check the rhubarb.

Big garden - comfrey crop April 2021.jpg

The comfrey was right next to it….

Big garden - north garlic crop April 2021.jpg

There’s garlic in 2 places in this garden due to rotational pressure. This is the northern part, right in front of the rhubarb.

Small garden - garlic and shallots crop April 2021.jpg

The rest of the garlic and the shallots (top, center) are in the Small garden and look no worse for wear after having a tarp on them into January.

Magnolia - flowering2 crop April 2021.jpg

While I was on the far side of the gardens, I got this shot of the magnolia.

East Lilacs - leaves started crop April 2021.jpg

Back on the other side of the garden, the East lilacs have 1” long leaves.

Fence Forsythia - flowering crop April 2021.jpg

All the Fence forsythias were in full bloom when I turned around from the lilacs.

1st Fence - jonquil crop April 2021.jpg

This jonquil opened this weekend in the 1st Fence garden.

4th Fence - February Gold daff crop April 2021.jpg

In the 4th Fence garden, these little February Gold daffodils are so cute.

7th Fence - daffs1 crop April 2021.jpg

The 7th Fence garden is farthest away from protection and is often behind the other gardens. Its daffodils opened over the weekend, in the heat.

7th Fence - daffs2 crop April 2021.jpg

Two years of mess to clean up is rather intimidating… There’s supposed to be an iris bed there…

Monday I do in-the-house chores and my friend is taking me plant shopping while it rains. I have a lot of plants I need to get, both for the veg garden and for the flowerbeds. But I will have to stick with perennials for the flowerbeds for now, as it’s still too cold to have annuals in the cold frame yet. (Another job, clean out the cold frame so I can use it…)

Sort:  

Wow! That magnolia tree is amazing! Wait till it gets really big!!

Lots of spring flowers around your garden!

It was a lot bigger than that last year. It had to be pruned to let the crabapple grow.

Magnolia crop April 2019.jpg

The huge catalpa tree we used to have made it grow towards the crabapple. We had to take down the catalpa to build, and now we are trying to reshape the magnolia.

Oh! So you’ll try to make this tree go straight?! Love those big pink flowers. We can’t grow magnolia otherwise I would have quite a few in my garden! LoL

Yes, that's the idea, to get it to fill out on the other side...

Wow very wery good vork ;))