It’s Done! And My Reward - July 24, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Big garden - onions and calendula crop July 2021.jpg

On Sunday morning I was out there at 6AM and started weeding the onions and deadheading the calendula. I had to prune the quince back enough so I could work.

Big garden - rhubarb crop July 2021.jpg

The rhubarb has been hard hit by the constant rain and I took a lot of rotten and bug eaten leaves out.

Big garden - north garlic area mulched crop July 2021.jpg

Last I mulched the northerly garlic area and I was finished! The Big garden was done for the first time since it was planted!

Big garden - comfrey crop July 2021.jpg

Oddly enough, with being tied up as they are, the comfrey plants are doing very well. They are still flowering.

Big garden - Jerusalem artichoke crop July 2021.jpg

The Jerusalem artichoke behind the quince is doing well, having survived the woodchuck attack. It has buds and will be flowering soon.

Big garden - marigolds crop July 2021.jpg

Elsewhere in the garden, the marigolds are doing pretty well this year.

Big garden - nasturtiums crop July 2021.jpg

These volunteer nasturtiums have hung in there. They aren’t as big or prolific as past years, but they are doing ok.

Big garden finished crop July 2021.jpg

I finished the Big garden in about 1½ hours and cleaned up and set up to do a flowerbed as a reward. I had thought I’d do the New East garden, but it’s so bad, I didn’t want to. It should have been done as I have a lot of things to plant in it.

New South - before1 crop July 2021.jpg

The New South garden has been left alone longer, but was not as bad, so I decided to tackle it.

New South - before2 crop July 2021.jpg

The east end had a huge mat of what I call ‘nut grass’ because the ends of the roots have what looks like a little nut or bulb.

New South - before3 crop July 2021.jpg

The rest of the bed had crabgrass starting to move in. I could not see the edge of the bed the grass was so thick. I had to re-dig the trench for the edging that never got put in, but couldn’t see the string to follow.

New South - started crop July 2021.jpg

I pulled enough grass so I could find the string, and then dug the new trench. Once that was done I started digging out the ‘nutgrass’. That lasted about 2’ and I decided to leave for when I could make a fresh start. I just started pulling grass clumps out.

When I reached the hollyhocks, I realized the leaves were all rusty and ended up taking them all off. By then it was 9:30 and I was getting pretty tired. I picked up the mess I’d made and set up the sleds to haul the remaining bales of mulch hay to the Small garden to store there. The guys would do that.

My son and a friend were going to move the remaining firewood at 10AM. I’d just gotten into the house when the firewood guy arrived wanting to know if I wanted another load. I told him that once the guys had it moved, he could bring one and put it in exactly the same place.

I left at noontime to go on the milk run with my friend and had a great ride up and then back to her house. When I got home there was a new load of 2 cords of wood by the shed. So it was a productive day.

The guys said they would work on it during the week. On Sunday I have a new person coming as a cleaning woman to do the pantry. I will work with her. We’ll see how she works out. It’s supposed to rain all day, so good for an inside job like that.

Sort:  

Good morning. It’s been a rainy summer so far. The slugs are all over the veggies and flowers, so that’s our first chore, clipping them. So gross. But surprisingly most of our crops are doing well.
Crab grass can be so hard to dig out, good luck with reclaiming the beds.
Don’t over farm, as we say to each other, knowing what that means at the end of the day. Get out the Aleve🤞👩‍🌾
Enjoy!

Wow! A lot of work got done in one day!

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @deepu7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!