Kicked Out – June 1, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Rugosa petals for dehydrator crop June 2022.jpg

For the last few days I’ve been looking at the rugosa roses and all the flowers coming out. I would have been collecting the petals to dehydrate, but the seedlings were in the space the dehydrators use.

But today was June 1 and all the seedlings were being kicked out to the cold frames to harden off. So I got a bowl and collected the petals when I got back from the barn.

Cold frame 1st full again crop June 2022.jpg

Wednesday was a cool cloudy day with rain coming in after noontime. When my general helper arrived, we started hauling seedlings to the cold frames. We quickly filled all the holes in the first one, having removed the 2 trays of Walla onion starts.

Cold frame 2nd half full crop June 2022.jpg

The second one had been nearly half full, but we pushed it closer to ¾ with the trays from in the dining room.

Big garden - Wallas and green beans planted crop June 2022.jpg

The old carpenter’s wife, also a great gardener, stopped by about this time and we walked around the gardens. We discovered a baby bunny in the New Herb garden. I have no idea how I will get him out. Or how he got in…

We checked out the little trees and the zillions of little peaches are getting big. I will have to remove some soon… We also found a single cherry on the North Star cherry tree. There’s 2 berries on the serviceberry too. I bet the birds get them all…

When she left we set about planting the Walla onions. My helper friend had prepped the row on Friday. Once they were in, I again discovered I’d miscalculated and had 3’ of empty row. So I put 2 Canterbury Bell seedlings in there. They will flower next year.

Big garden - 5th section cleared crop June 2022.jpg

We got them mulched and while my helper did that, I moved the hay mulch off the next section. When we’d finished that, it was time for her to go. But she didn’t have an afternoon job so she opted to stay and plant the row of green beans and mulch it. We got it done just as it started to rain. Now ⅔ of the Big garden is completely done.

Lights down dehydrators out crop June 2022.jpg

I was really tired and just wanted a shower and a nap, but when I got inside I saw the bowl of rose petals. I had to take down the lights and shelving in the south porch window and get the dehydrators out.

Roses on trays crop  June 2022.jpg

Then I loaded 5 trays and got them started. This is the beginning of the dehydrating. Then I got a shower and lay on the couch and napped.

porcupine_on_alert.jpg

source

I went up at 7:30 to do the chores and I could see this large dark animal trundling across the turnout. It didn’t move like any of the wild animals I was accustomed to. I drove right up by it and it was a pissed off porcupine! All the quills were up on its back. It headed into the woods ditch at the neighbors.

I drove around and up by the barn and Dennis was in the driveway and so preoccupied with sniffing something she wouldn’t move for the car! Then she followed the scent out into the turnout. She was tracking the porcupine. I told her she did NOT want to mess with that one! She, of course, ignored me. I hope I don’t find a quill filled cat in the morning.

We’ve never seen a porcupine here. I’d imagine they are around, but we’d not seen one before. I, of course, didn’t have my camera.

On Thursday I have a new helper coming to see if she likes the work. We will be working in the Big garden prepping the new section for planting. We may actually get stuff planted too.

I hope to get all the shelving and lights out of all the windows. They may not get put away, but the windows will be empty so they can be washed on Saturday morning.

Also on Thursday, in the afternoon, my friend who is able to take the breathing class is coming and we are going to share what we’ve learned. She had found me a book on breathing and I’m to read that and share the bits I found interesting and she shares what she learns in class. It should be fun and relaxing, I hope.

Sort:  

Hello lovely lady! 😊

We get a lot of porcupines here, unfortunately, because our handsome grand puppy Tiny loves to get them and we've had many, many, many quill removal sessions here and I've hated them all. LOL! 😊

We now have cages out for them and the skunks that he loves to play with as well and that helps keep us from having to try to wash the stink off of the dogs too! 😊

So, how did your cat make out...quills, no quills? 😊

Oh, in my post tomorrow I'll be including some pictures of plants we're trying to identify if you'd like to take a peek and let me know if you know what they are, I'd appreciate the assistance. It's hard to look up benefits of plants if we can't figure out which one to look for. LOL! 😊

God bless you and your wonderful family. Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! 😊

I didn't see her this morning. Hopefully I will tonight. Quill-less...

Saying a quick prayer for her return quill-free. 😊

Your plants look so good and they will really like being outside now. I have some type of onion that came back from last year and I can't for the life of me remember what they were. lol They are tall and look great but the bulbs don't look like much. I have never figured out how to grow them. I guess I better do some youtube videos and find out. Love your dehydrators, I only have two 5 tray round ones but managed well with them. Have a great day.

Why must you remove peaches? I just put my first peach tree in, and it has a dozen or so coming.

Because when there's so many on the branches, when they get big the branches break. :(( There's easily a couple dozen on some branches....

Oh haha may I have that problem someday! I thought maybe if they are too close together something could rot between them.

That was quite the click bait title there! I was wondering who was getting kicked out of where! 😆

LOL! I booted their tiny butts out!

I'm embarrassed to say that I just realized, I don't believe I've extended a formal invitation to you to post in the Homesteading community. Your content would be a wonderful addition, and we're currently seeking a curation boost from OCD through their community incubation program. I do hope you'll consider it!

I've mostly not posted in communities because I read somewhere all your posts to communities would not show up on the main blog page. I have family who read my posts and probably wouldn't go to several places to do so. So I've just stuck to what I've been doing. (They are not on HIVE.)

But I am truly ignorant of how many things work on this platform and mostly go for the simplest way.

In PeakD, in the advanced options on the 'create a post' page, there is a 'Show in Portfolio' slider you can click that will share to your profile, as well as the community you post in. There is also a selection in the '...' menu that allows you to show posts that you put into communities to your profile, after they are posted. If you don't want to use these features, I understand completely. I can just as easily re-blog your posts into the Homesteading community, and will probably begin doing so, if you have no objections.

I didn't know about those options! So if I make those selections, all my posts to another community will always show up on my main page?? That's cool! I've saved this little tidbit and tomorrow, if I can remember, I will try it out.

Thank you!

My pleasure! The advanced options for posting has a bunch of useful features, like scheduling, and choosing a different photo other than the first one in your post as the cover photo.

Ok, I think I figured it out, so today's post should end up in both places....