Odds and Ends - September 17, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Purple jew, snake plant crop Sept. 2022.jpg

On Saturday morning I found out my intern’s sister would be coming for a while. When she arrived I hoped she would help me feed the house plants. On checking my notes on the calendar, it appears I’ve not done it since March. I could have sworn it was done in the summer, but maybe I forgot to write it down.

It’s supposed to be done on the first of each month, but it’s an awful lot of standing for me to do alone. If someone can stand and make up the dozens of watering cans full of mix, I can manage the walking/standing to feed each one.

I’d had a bad night and wasn’t doing so good. But we managed to get all the plants fed before she had to go.

These are the recipes she learned to make:

Many, maybe as many as half, of the plants in the house live in water, some for a decade or longer. When I feed the potted plants, these jars are filled with:

½ teaspoon SeaCrop in 3 quarts of water.

Fern crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I usually have a couple plants I consider “food” plants inside, usually pineapple, ginger, and rosemary. They are fed, in 3 quarts of water:

½ teaspoon SeaCrop
1 teaspoon PlantSure
1 teaspoon Neptune 2-3-1
1 drop Pepzyme
2 smidges Armor Si

All the rest of the house plants get:

½ teaspoon SeaCrop
1 teaspoon PlantSure
1 small scoop Miracle-Gro
1 drop Pepzyme
2 smidges Armor Si
in 3 quarts of water

I bought a huge box of MiracleGro about 25 years ago and I’m still trying to use it up on the house plants.

Cleaning up the fenceline crop Sept. 2022.jpg

While we were doing this, my tenant went out and got started cleaning out on the back side of the pasture fences, so stuff from that side doesn’t grow onto the fences. He got this whole north side done with the chainsaw. It still needs to be picked up and weedwacked.

My intern’s sister left for her riding lesson and was back just after noon. It turns out she was being picked up by my general helper who I hadn’t seen in a month. We had about 20 minutes until she arrived so we decided to set up for making 3 loaves of zucchini bread.

More zucchini bread crop Sept. 2022.jpg

They decided they had time to get the 3 loaves mixed up and 2 in the oven before they had to go. So we got to hear all about my general helper’s stay on a vegan farm for the last month.

I was delighted to get 2 jobs done that I hadn’t been able to do by myself and spend time with these lovely young women.

Front pasture fences weedwacked crop Sept. 2022.jpg

My son had gotten out and cleaned up these two sides of the front pasture. He plans to do the north side on Sunday and the area around the shelter/wood area.

My tenant will continue the chainsaw work across the east end of the back 40 and perhaps down the south side.

It’s to be a warm day, in the 80’s, and I hope to get out and work on the New South garden some more.

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Wow! You have got so many helpers in time of need! The lawn and fence look nice and tidy.

Your house plants will be crawling around your house soon!

Well, the house plants that are still alive are used to my lack of care. One of them dates back to Christmas 1974. So some are doing ok, others, not so much.