Off to the Fair - September 10, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Remedy series crop Sept. 2022.jpg

On Saturday morning I took it pretty easy. I’ve been watching and taking lots of notes from this series: Remedy: Ancient Medicine for Modern Illness.

The link is for Episode 5 on Lyme disease and the episodes only are up for 24 hours. I did this most of the morning. Then I got the bathroom floor washed (it needed it after the cat deal), got a shower and got ready to go to the Franklin County Fair with my youngest brother. He was picking me up at 2PM.

Fair - roundhouse and midway crop Sept. 2022.jpg

As I mention each year this was how my husband and I would celebrate our anniversary each year. This would have been 48th. Last year and this year one of my favorite local bands would be playing late Saturday afternoon: The 60’s Experience.

This photo was the entry gates and the roundhouse. We did the roundhouse first and were saddened to see the scarcity of entries for vegetables, flowers, canning and baking, and crafts and photography. There weren’t any scarecrows, one thing I looked forward to. My brother kept looking for the giant pumpkins and there were none.

My helper friend hadn’t even entered this year. I think he had entered things each year since I’ve known him.

Fair - quilt crop Sept. 2022.jpg

This was my favorite quilt.

Fair - Gemma's basket crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Friends from my old homeschooling group had lots of entries. There were quilts, baking, vegetables, canning, and photographs by my friends.

Fair - animal barns crop Sept. 2022.jpg

These are the animal barns and the dairy barns weren’t very full.

Fair - midway crop Sept. 2022.jpg

This is part of the midway and the thing to do on a Saturday afternoon was to walk it and see how many people you knew. We saw no one we recognized this year.

Fair - merry-go-round crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The midway is Coleman Bros. and I have always loved their little merry-go-round. They keep it up well and it doesn’t just have horses but also other animals.

Fair - infield and grandstand crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The infield and grandstand

After the roundhouse we went on the Ferris wheel, my favorite each year. That’s how I get my Fair photos.

Then we walked the midway and food booths to determine what we’d get for supper and to look for onion rings. This year we found no onion rings anywhere! But for supper we found sesame noodles with chicken made from brown rice noodles. There were also lots of vegetables in the sesame/ginger sauce, very good! And for dessert we had peach shortcake with whipped cream.

We went through the fair museum, checked out this year’s t-shirt (awful design), and went through the 4-H building. There were no children’s’ names I recognized, I guess I’m getting old and out of touch. It wasn’t well filled either and no child had tried for the giant pumpkin.

We also went through one of the other buildings that was now all crafts for sale (used to be more commercial) and the baby animal barn. By then it was time to get in line for our supper things and get over to the tent where the band would play.

Fair - 60's Experience2 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I’ve seen this band a few times and really enjoy hearing the music from the 60’s.

Fair - 60's Experience3 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I like to be in the front row so I can get photos and stretch my legs out. The band played from 5 – 7PM and the folding chairs got rather uncomfortable for my brother after a while.

But I guess my chair dancing kept me from getting uncomfortable until ¾ of the way through the concert.

It had been a hot sunny day, in the 80’s but a breeze kept me cool enough and I sought out shade when I could. It wasn’t too bad under the tent and as the sun went behind the mountain at 6PM it started to cool down.

So it was a nice day at the Fair and a nice time spent with my brother.

Sunday is to be cloudy and cool and I have to mow the lawn. It’s going to take forever because the grass really grew after the 6” of rain we got this week. That ought to wipe me out until Tuesday.

Sort:  

So nice to see a big Fair with lots of people and activities.

I just realised that your old cat had gone to the other dimension. Sorry to hear this news.

You might find this alternative medicine interesting. I have been using this CDS to heal myself and people for almost a year now.

https://t.me/ChlorineDioxideInfo

Thu

I'm glad you got to go to a fair, too. I didn't go on any rides at ours, though. I know what you mean about not recognizing many of the names any more. My kids and their friends have grown up and don't enter anything any more, or not much. I haven't entered anything in the fair for several years.