Ready to Plant - July 26, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Humidity 98 per crop July 2021.jpg

On Monday morning the humidity was at 98% and the window screens had drops running down them.

Beans and Cukes crop July 2021.jpg

I got out there at 6AM and got the beans picked. There still weren’t an awful lot. But I got a big surprise as I found 13 cucumbers on the 2 hills of small plants that had been struggling since they were planted.

I brought the bowl inside and made myself a cucumber sandwich. Yum! The carpenter had arrived and he decided to start making the shelves for the clean room. The stove isn’t getting done anytime soon, and the flooring for the laundry wasn’t going to arrive, so he went back to the clean room to work.

New South - ready to plant crop July 2021.jpg

I went back out and started back on the New South garden. It was quite a job digging out all that ‘nutgrass’ root mass and all the little nuts. But I got the bed finished and put down the FlowerTone amendment. It’s already to plant on Tuesday morning.

Smoke July 2021.jpg


source

The air is hazy again as more smoke from the West and Canada moves into our area. We are the tip in the center of the state, where it’s orange. I’d started the AC this morning as it was to be nearly 90F and the humidity was brutal. So I’ve missed most of the smoke.

I cancelled the flooring order as no one knew when it would come in. Then I ordered a similar kind, different brand. It had a good rating, so I hope it holds up. I also had to get more corbels for the clean room shelving, as the carpenter would prefer to not run studs to the floor for shelf support. I also contacted the plumber to come do the sink in the clean room and in the laundry.

Some neighbors stopped by to ask permission to ride their horses on the edge of the pastures. We got to talking and they offered help if I needed it. As they were horse people, I asked if they could help me move the mulch hay off Horse Mountain where it’s been waiting for me for weeks. They agreed to help do it on Saturday.

I got the beans processed and got 5 pints for the freezer and a bunch for supper.

Tuesday I finish the New South garden, and then have to start on the Small vegetable garden, weeding it. Once that’s done, I have to weed the outside perimeter. Then I can tackle another flowerbed.

Sort:  

You live near a place called Horse Mountain.... how awesome is that!!!
And you can plant things this late in the season. We have fewer than 60 days before first frost. Planting time has ended here. An optimist, a dreamer, might still try for late-fall harvests. My April peas didn't do well (do they ever? NO), so I planted a second crop in early July. They're coming up now. It's wretchedly hot (even the windows are sweating: you got that right!). Peas don't like heat.

You are incredibly ambitious and busy!