The Building Resumes - September 26, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Construction - woodshed building resumes crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The contractor was here in mid afternoon and got started again on the woodshed. He got the blocking in on the walls and brought the shingles up from the shelter.

I have to get the wood moved out of this area because the firewood is supposed to come on Saturday. That means moving everything in the alcove because the wood has to go in there. I also have to free up the area next to the interior wall, as the contractor won’t be able to get to it once the wood is in. I’ve asked my son to move the stuff and if he doesn’t get to it, I’ve got my general helper for Wednesday to do it.

The contractor has a roof of his own to do this week but might be back on Saturday while I am gone.

Signature oak crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The signature oak and the not-so-little catalpa left of it

I managed to get the bills and budget done in the morning. That doesn’t happen often, as I tend to make all too many mistakes, or to have left it too long before starting.

Beef stew simmering crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I was all dressed and ready to go out to the gardens when my friend called late morning. We talked on the phone for an hour or more. When we finished, I decided to get the beef stew started early and never did make it outside.

Autumn afternoon2 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

An autumn mid afternoon on the farm

New South - edging finished crop Sept. 2022.jpg

My son got going and got the edging filled in on the New South garden. All the rain had washed the soil down into the trench so he brought more around from the big pile by the woodshed. He did a really good job on this. It shouldn’t heave from frost this winter.

New East - eding half done crop Sept. 2022.jpg

He managed to get half of the New East edging done, the outside edge before he had to go. He still needs to bring more soil for the inside edge. Hopefully he will finish it on Tuesday.

I had more BuyNothing pickups. It’s cool the stuff is leaving and a lot of it is books for young kids. I hope they read them.

On Monday evening I saw 4 deer on the back 40 when I went up for chores. I haven’t seen any deer out there for weeks or maybe months.

Big rose crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The Big rose is in full bloom again

New West - portulaca crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The portulacas in the New West garden by the front steps are a bright spot in the sun. I can really see them now the garden is cleaned out. The dianthus is flowering again too.

Tuesday I hope to get outside and finish the last 1½ gardens around the house. Another friend appeared with seafood chowder she made last night so I will have that for lunch.

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

We just ran out of wood entirely. Need another source to prepare for next winter.
Sounds like a productive few days. And seafood chowder... Yum. Are deer much of a pest there? I'm still fending off a rabbit plague. About to go outside and check for holes this morning.

Actually in all the decades I've had gardens, they've only bothered the Big garden once, many decades back.