The Gardens - June 17, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb  Row 5, nearly mulched crop June 2020.jpg

Wednesday morning I was working on my own, so I got out there in the New Herb garden just before 6AM while it was still cool. I weeded the rest of Row 4 so I could move its mulch to finish Row 5, as my husband wasn’t getting more mulch until later in the morning. I almost got Row 5 finished, but the heat and moving up and down did me in.

New Herb  Rows 3 and 4 weeded crop June 2020.jpg

Once I’d cooled down, I sat and weeded Row 3 and half of Row 2, before I got too hot again. I wanted them ready to work on when my helper friend was here on Thursday.

Big garden  carrots up crop June 2020.jpg

In the Big garden, I remembered to take the boards off the sprouting carrots. They came up really well, something that doesn’t happen often here. They will need to be thinned real soon.

Big garden  peas up crop June 2020.jpg

The sugar pod peas came up very well also and are about 3” high now.

Big garden  brocolli crop June 2020.jpg

The broccoli is doing very well, no sign of pest damage so far. My helper friend started the foliar feeding on Tuesday so that will help keep them healthy.

Big garden  kale crop June 2020.jpg

Both types of kale are doing well, but as usual the lacinato is more prone to pest damage than the Vates.

Thursday I hope to finish the mulching in the New Herb garden on Row 5, get Row 4 all prepped and planted, and maybe mulched, and start on Row 3.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.