The New Herb Garden is Finished! - July 15, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb - Row 7 finished1 crop July 2021.jpg

I went out about 6:30 and got the green peas picked. There were a few sugar pod peas. They resurrected with the cool temps and rain. Then I got started on the last row in the New Herb garden. I was bound and determined to finally finish this garden!

New Herb - Row 7 finished2 crop July 2021.jpg

The first thing I did was take a shovel and chop the yarrow back into its bed, then dig out the roots. Then I spread amendment and looked to see what I had to plant.

New Herb - Row 7, lupines planted crop July 2021.jpg

The only thing left to plant was lupines next to the echinacea. So everything left in the cold frame is for flowerbeds. I mulched the lupines and then started down by the yarrow and mulched the north side of the bed.

About this time the carpenter comes out and says the phone’s been ringing off the hook. (I don’t have a cell phone, just a landline.) It starts ringing again and I remember that I had left a message for the wood guy to bring wood on Thursday. So I run in and just catch him. They came out to see how they would get the wood to the shed before bringing the first load out.

Firewood - 1st 2 cords crop July 2021.jpg

They came with a 14’ trailer and a truck and it was mighty tight quarters. They did manage to get in and out, with only minor damage to the bottom step by the back door. (They said they would fix it.) So I have 2 cord of wood, of the 8 cord I ordered. My son said he would get it into the shed.

New Herb - finished crop July 2021.jpg

Once the wood was unloaded I went back and finished mulching Row 7. Then I raked the 2 remaining walkways and the New Herb garden was finished! What a relief to have it done.

After I’d cooled down for a while, I got started shelling peas and watching Doc Martin. In fits and starts I finally got them done and in the freezer. I had 3 pints.

Now I can move onto other projects. But first I plan to reward myself by cleaning out the gardens around the front porch. I am sick of looking at the nearly 5’ high weeds. So Friday morning I will be out as close to 5AM as I can to do that. It’s to be a wicked hot and humid day, so we’ll see how far I get.

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Working nonstop! The garden does look very nice!

Hello lovely lady! 😊

Your gardens look great, I don't know how you manage to get it all done, I don't have that kind of energy. 😊

God bless you and your wonderful family. 😊 Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! 😊

Cool garden 😁😁 not stop and let as see it all time 🙏👌👌

I think your garden looks very good. You are blessed.

Your herb garden is so beautiful! I love the echinacea, and I also love that you planted lupine next to it, two of my absolute favorites:)

Very cool! Too bad they were in the last row I did, or perhaps you'd be able to see both flowering.

"reward myself by cleaning out the gardens around the front porch"

This cracked me up!

Well, I tell you what, I am SO happy to go up and down the front steps now. And most of the plants seemed to have survived weeding and transplanting, so maybe it will be pretty later...