The Weeds are Gone - August 9, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Wildflowers  goldenrod1 crop July 2020.jpg

I thought this tall stuff was goldenrod. But the flowers are tiny and white and turn into puffs of seeds. The tallest ones are easily 7’ high. I had started pulling them out months ago, along the wall side as there were so many of them.

Wildflowers  goldenrod2 crop July 2020.jpg

I’d gotten about a 6’ – 8’ strip thinned out. You can tell by the lighter color in that area, but you can’t tell I thinned anything. They were very immature and I thought they were goldenrod. I left some because they’d be nice in late summer. Well, they aren’t goldenrod, so they are all leaving.

Wildflowers  goldenrod gone crop August 2020.jpg

Sunday morning after we’d moved the pasture pen, it was still cloudy. It was getting hot and was humid, but I was determined to finish this job. It took me 2 hours but all the weeds are gone.

Wildflowers  2 new ones1 crop June 2020.jpg

There were some of the little Silene armeria, Catchfly, in there.

1st wildflower  Siberian wallflower crop May 2020.jpg

I found a single Siberian wallflower also.

There’s a lot of grass that needs thinned out, and I found wormwood and tansy in there. I pulled the wormwood because it emits a chemical from its roots that inhibits other plants’ growth. I pulled the tansy because around here it gets 7’ high.

I don’t know if I will get back to this area for more weeding. I will have to do something once the ground freezes as I have bird’s foot trefoil to put down then.

The next project is harvesting the onions after I get the spaghetti sauce, ketchup, and tomato soup made for the year. I also hope to have peaches for the freezer. Then I can start on the flowerbeds.

Sort:  

Your days are full of projects just like mine. It is never-ending when you have your own gardens and do all the canning for the year. It is a lot of work but oh so worth every bit of effort. Keep going girl you're doing a fabulous job.