Too Much Driving! - March 22, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Liv and truckload of hay crop March 2022.jpg

My cleaning helper arrived at 8AM and we left in the truck to clean a loft and a storage area of loose hay for mulch. The truck hadn’t wanted to start, but it did. Once running, it ran like a top! Yay, Tom!

We managed to cram all the hay into 1 load. It was very cold and windy and neither of us wanted to do 2 loads. It sure unloads a whole lot easier than it loads…

I was wiped out from the cold but she ran the vacuum around for me before she left.

Moving potting soil crop March 2022.jpg

I got up from my chair for something and noticed the answering machine blinking. At 10:30 when we got done, I’d called the soil company I’d ordered from to see if they knew when the order was due, but they didn’t. The machine had a call from the fence company saying my soil order had been delivered at 9:30.

With the wind and cold, the pasture was firm enough to drive the truck on. It would be so much easier unloading it at the bulkhead behind the house. It’s to start raining on Wednesday for days and the pasture won’t be useable for a week or more. So I got my son to help me drive and we went and picked up the order.

It was 1000# in 50# bags. I’d get them off the truck and he’d carry them down the stairs and stack them in the cellar. But if he stayed to help me, he’d miss his bus into town. I’d have to drive him in, once we’d finished.

I was so tired by then, but he kept me focused on the way in and I managed to get home without killing anyone. I just don’t drive if I can possibly help it.

New wheels on pasture coop crop Nov. 2021.jpg

So I dozed in my chair and on the couch until about 4:30 when the phone rang. It was the neighbors and they wanted to pick my brain cell about chicken care.

Apparently the son’s girlfriend moved in bringing her menagerie which included six 3 week old chicks. Now this household had 4 bird hunting dogs who actually hunt, so this is going to be interesting…

So I spent an hour showing them the coops and talking about chick and chicken care. They weren’t delighted to find out they would have to keep these tiny chicks in their cellar until May when it’s warm enough, and they are big enough, to go outside.

It was an early night Tuesday night…. And I called to cancel my general helper on Wednesday so I could rest.

Sort:  

Oh gosh, bird hunting did and chicks doesn't sound like a great combination! Fingers crossed.

Hope you get/got some rest. I'm not entirely sure what day you're on there. I'm currently in Wednesday evening and looking forward to a good night's sleep myself after a tiring few days. I'm not used to early mornings any more.

Just starting Weds AM around 4AM

And you're awake at 4am! Goodness, that definitely calls for a rest day.

Well, I am normally up between 3:30 and 5AM every day. But since the dratted daylight savings change, my sleep is trashed.

I hate the daylight savings changes. It's about time it was gotten rid of. It was worst when my girls were young and we had to change their sleep patterns twice a year.