You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Pineapple Gardens Just keep Growing!

in #homesteading7 years ago

I have a huge pineapple plant. My mother in law gave it to me after mine died. I had shown her how to grow one from the top. She always gave it her leftover coffee and now I know why! Mine is in a pot and I bring it in every winter. I don't know what kinds of temperatures they can tolerate. Obviously yours are doing just fine in the ground. How cold do your winters get?

Sort:  

Once in a blue moon we may get a freeze but mostly lows in the 40's maybe 15-20 days all toll in the winter, when we get cold days. South Central Florida. Highs in the low 80's many days in the 70's. Our weather fights are in the summer, so hot, Winter is fabulous ..like northern summers. ;)

Well damn. I'll keep bringing mine in every winter. To make room, I have to trim it's leaves (fronds?) back. It takes up about 3 square feet of space or more!

They can get really big...yeah, we are pretty tropical! Sorry ..but I can not grow any apples or peaches! God gives everybody something good! :)

Most definitely! Do you have any idea how many years it takes for them to fruit? Or am I just looking at a very large, pointy houseplant? Hahaha!

They take about two years here. They are pointy LOL
Happy Sunday!
Melissa