Homesteaders - Living Naturally, Newsletter. 9th October 2019

There is so much great content out there in the communities that I've been having a harder time trying to make choices on what not to feature than on what to feature. You're all amazing, so keep up the great work! I've been supporting as much as I can from the @homesteaderscoop and my own account, as well as sending what I can to pertinent curators. I am struggling to keep up with everything, so you might see upvotes from this account, but no comment. The message is the same, and that is that we appreciate your work.

Things happening in the community.

There is a little time left to squeeze a submission in for the @ecotrain question of the week. One day officially, unless @eco-alex is running late with the tie up post, in which case you'll have a bit more time for a post to be included.

ecotrain.png

If you are, or were, a home educator then the @homeedders' challenge could be of interest to you. The current challenge asks you to share what perks or benefits you've experienced from homeschooling.

homeedders.jpeg


Welcoming Newcomers

It's been a while since we got to introduce a newcomer, so I'm excited to meet @freemotherearth. I hope she'll feel right at home in our communities.

free.jpeg


Some highlights of the week

If you don't think you have enough space to compost, then @joelai's article on composting on a small scale might make you think again. This is truly composting in miniature.

compost.jpeg

I love a solution which makes use of what is available around you without having to head to the shops. Here, @paulwheaton shows how to make a drystack step from resources readily available on someone's property.

step.jpeg

I always knew that leaf litter was good for the soil, but it turns out it's not in the way I expected. @wildhomesteading explains why leaf mould is so great and it's a much more interesting read than you might expect.

leaf.jpeg

If you've got more horseradish than you know what to do with, then @goldenoakfarm's pickled horseradish recipe could be just the thing for you.

image.png

Thank you for stopping by. This week's newsletter was brought to you by @minismallholding.




Homesteaders Co-op


Our Free, Community Marketplace

Shop with pride: Our vendors are committed to sustainability for a healthier planet. As a Co-operative we are community run. And unlike other marketplaces our vendors are not charged fees or commissions. Vendors: Learn more

Support Our Alternative Economy


Logo design by FireFly Creations - illustrator & artist available for commission

Sort:  

Awesome finds!!! I just planted a horseradish - hoping it will take. Great articles this week, thanks for bringing them to us!

Fingers crossed on the horseradish. I don't know what climate that prefers.

Fingers crossed on the
Horseradish. I don't know what
Climate that prefers.

                 - minismallholding


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Should be ok as long as I get it to settle in with a bit of water . it grows in the UK

Posted using Partiko Android

My helper friend grows it, and you are only supposed to harvest 3 year old roots. We used his last year, so I had to buy it this year. Maybe when I get around to re-organizing the gardens in the next year or so, I'll put in some horseradish plants for my fire cider each year...

Thank you so much for the visit and mentions in this post, really appreciated!

Thanks for such a warm welcome, @minismallholding! I am in heaven connecting with so many like-minded people around the world at once. Thinking globally/acting locally means that we must network together in cooperatives of many different varieties! I will be reading and writing about many aspects of sustainable living to help improve all of our lives ~ it truly does permeate every individual and community choice as we tune in to the consciousness of natural harmony. I also want to tell @jacobpeacock thanks for helping to show folks in the US we really can still be minimal in this disposable society!! I love that he's documenting his adventures for others!

You're welcome. It's always great to have another kindred spirit come on board. It can take a little while to settle in and get to know everyone, but I hope we can support you through that stage.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @homesteaderscoop! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here