Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 670)

in #homesteading2 years ago

Hello Everyone!

Another Sunday off, Late day writing, Binge watching HiveFest videos, Minding the body & Chicken routines!

The day has grown very late and I never wrote a single word here so I better dive in and see what emerges. Since it is a Sunday I have taken the day off which is nice because I think that I have now done that for a month straight but it could actually be longer than that.

It seems like on days like today I am either going to wake up and start writing... or immediately delay doing it upon waking and continue delaying it for as long as possible. Failing to do any writing does tend to cause me a good bit of anxiousness (even on my day off) so yeah one way or another I usually wind up spending some amount of time in the text editor no matter what.

Honestly, I spent much of the day (okay the entire day) watching the livestreams from the recent HiveFest and am listening to it still as I am writing this. I am unsure exactly how I came across the original post about it but whoa I have found the two days of videos to be quite informing and even helpful.

Alright, I just got back from a hike after realizing that I had totally slacked on doing so today. Staying in that particular habit even on (or especially on) my day off is important if I want to get into better physical shape to face my next adventure.

One thing that I noticed while hiking is that the old leg injury that I have is definitely flaring up so I need to do whatever I can to not put any strain on it, reduce the inflammation and let it heal. So once that big order of food arrives I will start taking some anti-inflammatories immediately. If they were not so hard on my stomach sans large meals I would already be taking them.

Suffice it to say that having managed this particular injury for over a decade now I got all the steps to heal it rather dialed in! Aside from getting the inflammation down the only other thing that I can really do is not put my weight fully on that leg while carrying stuff and walking any sloped terrain very slowly.

In all likelihood I pulled that muscle (to the point of discomfort) while hiking the hill the other day but honestly I have been doing so much random stuff while packing down that it could have been any number of things. It kind of goes back to what I was saying a month or so ago about the perils of losing sight of my body mechanics when dealing with a lot of mental/emotional upheaval.

Thankfully that kind of intense 'upheaval' lost its hold on me a few weeks ago but by then I had most likely already agitated that old injury to one degree or another. In short, the next time some wacky stuff happens in my life... I need to try to pay attention to my body closer and try to curb the likelihood of such uncomfortable outcomes!

On a different note. The chickens really have me trained at this point when it comes to their feeding time and equally so with letting them out of their coop on time in the morning. I am beginning to think that they are extremely sensitive to the timing of their daily routines because now if I deviate (even slightly) with either... I get bum-rushed by the smallest hen or by Bob the rooster.

Neither one of them rushing me like that ever amounts to much except once when Bob got me in the heel with a spur because my slipper fell off while using my foot to ward him away. The hen is the funny one because she kind of tucks her head down and runs at me full speed, collides with my leg, bounces off and then runs away strutting like she really 'showed me who is boss' which is hilarious.

As far as closing the coop at night goes... ever since I saw that fox a few weeks back and started thinking about how I only have four birds... that I should really do everything that I can do to protect them. In general I wish that I had never gotten so slack with leaving their coop open at night because regaining that habit has been way more tricky than losing it was!

Well, I have rambled on enough for one day here and am going to wrap this up and get on with the editing and posting. I hope that everyone is doing well and has a nice day/night.

IMG_20220918_185331.jpg

A small snake skeleton that I found while hiking!

IMG_20220918_185731.jpg

This little black locust survived all that rainy weather and the high heat of summer!

Thanks for reading!

woodbanner.png

Please check out the Homesteading Community:
https://peakd.com/c/hive-114308/created

Homesteading Resources:
https://peakd.com/hive-114308/@jacobpeacock/homesteading-resources

Want to join Hive?
Sign Up Via My Referral Below!
https://peakd.com/register?ref=jacobpeacock

hive-banner.png

That Is All For Now!

Cheers! & Hive On!

Sort:  

If you find the link to hivefest, please send it to me. I hope your leg gets better, the visual of the little hen raming you the strutting off is so funny. Awesome snake skeleton.

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022