Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 673)

in #homesteading2 years ago

Hello Everyone!

Sleeping in, Food supplies arrive, Squirreling stuff away, Fully stocked on coffee & Tree leaves changing color!

It is now close to sunset and I never wrote anything today so I best dive in here and see what all emerges before it gets too much later in the evening. I even got all the critters fed earlier than usual just so that I would not feel super pressed for time but wouldn't you know it... I feel it anyways!

The day was a bit of an 'off one' because I was up super late last night and then wound up sleeping in way later than I usually do. The rest itself probably would have been better had I not woken up and fallen back asleep a dozen (or more) times which of course meant that I also did way too much tossing and turning!

I knew that taking that super long nap late in the day yesterday might throw me off a bit but no regrets there considering how much it helped relieve the throbbing in my leg. Regardless of all that, I did manage to go on several hikes and do my routine chores so the day was not a complete washout or anything and overall my leg injury does seem to be improving.

Those food orders that I made finally arrived and whoa I must admit that they did a pretty piss poor job on packing it in the boxes and one of the boxes was super crushed to boot. Thankfully everything was still intact even though the box of energy bars that I ordered had broken apart and many (okay most) of the bars were smashed flat to one degree or another.

As far as all the food goes it was a bit of a bear to find places to squirrel it all away at but thankfully the big cooler that I use for dry storage and one of two insulated bag coolers that I use were mostly empty. After stuffing them full I still had a good bit of supplies to put somewhere so I opted to fill the shelf above the refrigerator with them even though the weight makes it sag a fair amount.

To be clear here things are a bit of a cluster-cuss inside the cabin (and I have even less space than usual) because I have been staging stuff like my clean laundry and such inside as I pack it down. So while technically I have plenty of room for storing stuff like the food supplies... at the moment it is occupied with stuff I do not want the mildew in the attic nor the rodents outdoors getting to.

Anyway, the options when shopping online are not super great (no fresh foods etcetera available in the area I am in) so it is always a compromise on getting enough food that is not overly heavy with sodium, getting food I enjoy eating (and/or can digest easily) and getting enough food period! This time around I think that I did better than I have in the past at picking the items so we will see how it works out in the long run.

In regards to supplies for long-term storage and bulk items I got a bunch of rice, peanut butter, canned meat, dehydrated fruit, those power bars that I mentioned and probably more coffee than I will ever need! When it comes to the coffee I got three different kinds of it and I think that all combined it totals out to be around twenty pounds (nine kilograms) of it... so regardless of anything else I will at least have my favorite beverage!

All total I think that if I were to stay close to my current rationing routine that I could probably stretch what I have now for the better part of six months easily and perhaps more if I was super conservative. I do not plan on sticking on such a stringent diet though because I need to drastically up my caloric intact to match my workload... but it does bring me some peace of mind knowing that I could ration it all out for an extended period of time if I had to.

On a different note entirely. While I was taking some pictures before sunset I noticed that many of the leaves on the hardwood trees are already showing signs of their colors changing. It assuredly seems a bit early in the year for that to be occurring so maybe it is just some kind of blight or something like that. On the other hand it is almost October so mayhaps it is all right on time even if it seems a wee bit early to me.

I have yet to actually rake up all those leaves that I mentioned needing to be raked up around the dog yard but I have not forgotten about it either. The other day I almost did it regardless of my leg throbbing but then I thought about pulling wagonloads of them to the compost and decided that might be a bit much for the injured leg and have the opposite effect of what I want... which is for it to heal up again!

Honestly, I have done rather well at not letting the pain/discomfort bother me too much aside from it making me feel more cooped up than I want to be at the moment. My big plan is to make a large breakfast tomorrow and start myself on a round of anti-inflammatories afterwards. If I am super lucky, do not pull the muscle further and stay on the anti-inflammatories I can hopefully get the inflammation under control and the muscle healed (or healed enough) by sometime next week.

Alright, the hour is growing late here so I am going to call this entry good enough and get on with doing the editing and posting. I hope that everyone is doing well and has a nice day/night.

IMG_20220921_192334.jpg

If you look close you can see the variation in leaf color.

IMG_20220921_192402_1.jpg

That look says: I am one happy-go-lucky dog!

Thanks for reading!

woodbanner.png

Please check out the Homesteading Community:
https://peakd.com/c/hive-114308/created

Homesteading Resources:
https://peakd.com/hive-114308/@jacobpeacock/homesteading-resources

Want to join Hive?
Sign Up Via My Referral Below!
https://peakd.com/register?ref=jacobpeacock

hive-banner.png

That Is All For Now!

Cheers! & Hive On!

Sort:  

You should have taken a picture of the crushed food and sent it to the store or whoever you ordered from.

I was considering that but none of the packaging is broken so its fine.