I'M BUILDING A DAM, TO HAVE A RESERVOIR FOR FARMING FISH AND POWERING A TURBINE

in #homesteading3 years ago

THIS WILL BE A MASSIVE UNDERTAKING!!!

inCollage_20210611_102447520.jpg

In the picture above you can see on the top is how it looks now, and on the bottom the red shows where the dam will be. It will need to be 6 to 7 ft tall (2 meters) and about 20 ft long (7 meters). I am going to make it out of stone of course, as I am very good at building things with it. Also, it will make a very strong dam that I will not have to worry about erosion.

ALREADY STARTED

Last night I began the work by clearing the center ravine out of all logs, trees, branches, and leaves. I then dug down until I hit clay, and built a trough.

KIMG7791.JPG

My next step is to build a sandbag dam above where I will build the permanent dam. I will have a flexible too that comes out from it to divert the water away from where I'm building. After that is completed, I will be able to begin digging the footing. It needs to be 3 ft wide by 3 ft deep (1 meter by 1 meter) and as long as the damn will be as well, so about 21 ft.

Then we'll begin the fun of being able to place stones and build the dam. I am imagining it will take close to a month to build.(Which means it will really take 3.😂🤣😂) But once completed, we will have the ability to grow and farm fish, along with increasing our total electric gathering. I am hopeful to add 100-200 percent more power generation then we gather from the solar panels alone.

Sort:  

doesnt "pool" water get contaminated if it is not flowing? like a swimming pool, the water need to be treated, else bacterial will grow and the water becomes nasty?

The water will always be flowing as it is fed by a spring. The water will also be being cycled as we use it to power the turbine. This pool of water will not be used for our drinking water, so no worries there either. How are you doing my friend? I hope all is well for you!🤗

My younger brother is building a dam as well, he is about half way done with it. This dam is only for ducks and fish, not for a turbine. I wish you luck on the dam!