THE CABIN IS LIVABLE!!!! AND CHRISTMAS IS A GO!!!!

in #homesteading3 years ago

AN AMAZING AMOUNT OF WORK

KIMG6180.JPG

I have been very busy since the last update and only have a short amount of time to do this update, so it will be brief.

The last bit of work needed to move in was a working shower. While we can all do other bathroomly(a real word😁😂) duties outside, or on a sealed bucket(on the colder days) for the time being until the toilet system is in place.

So I started by building the floor and framing in the walls for the bathroom.

KIMG6142.JPG
*Floor finished...

KIMG6156.JPG
*And the walls....sorry for the terrible night pictures...but it's been long days working and dark when I finish.

THE SHOWER

With the floors and walls framed, I installed the insulation and went to work on the shower stall.

KIMG6209.JPG

First I glued a couple pieces of water proof plastic panels to the walls to ensure the water stays where it's supposed to. Then I installed the base for the shower.

THEN THE DRAIN

This was the worst part of the install....crawling back under the house and fighting the insulation to install the drain pipes.😁

KIMG6195.JPG
*The easy part was starting the plumbing from the inside.

KIMG6190.JPG
*Underneath...not so much fun.🤣😂

KIMG6212.JPG
*But i stayed at it and the progress slowly started.

KIMG6215.JPG
*This is the end of the line for now...

KIMG6214.JPG
*A quick test run revealed everything was working as planned.

THE WATER FOR THE SHOWER

As anyone who's been following our journey knows, we do not have any water hook ups here and rely completely on our spring for water. So for a shower to be taken required a little thought on how to do it....this is what I came up with.

KIMG6222.JPG
*The shower water bucket.

It's simplicity at its best. It is no more then a camp shower bag on a bucket. We have to fill the bag and warm the water to take a shower. It's not too much work really, and I would know, as upon completion I couldn't wait to take my first shower in the cabin.

KIMG6221.JPG
*Here I am, fresh from the shower.😁

CHRISTMAS AT THE CABIN IS A GO!

We put our Christmas tree up yesterday and I have decided to halt work(mostly) until after Christmas. I think it will feel good to take a short break. My body(and mind) need it.

KIMG6232.JPG


KIMG6235.JPG


I wish everyone an amazing week and i hope that everyone enjoys their own special time and that it is filled with love and happiness!!!

Thank you all for your continued support and love!



All photos are my own taken with my Kyocera Duraforce Pro phone.
Sort:  

Your post has been featured in The Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow.

Curated for the Natural Medicine community by @minismallholding


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

Thanks so much! I really appreciate and love the support and love you show me! It means the world to us as every little bit helps.(and your help and support is huge for us!)

Awesome work.

Thanks friend!🤗