Using Scraps from your kitchen: Turn Pineapple Skin into Tepache

in #homesteading6 years ago

I have only made a few fermented drinks so far and I must admit I have focused on the no fail versions until I learn more. If you would like to give fermenting beverages a try this is THE ONE! Pineapple Tepache is the perfect, easy way to enjoy the benefits of probiotics. Tepache is said to Improve your internal gut flora thus helping your immune system and it also helps with inflammation.

image.png

Ingredients
1 pineapple
Filtered water
¾ cup to 1 cup of sugar
1 cinnamon stick (optional)
3 to 4 cloves (optional)
Gallon Jar

Directions
Wash the pineapple. The yeast for fermentation is on the rind, so don't scrub it, just rinse it off. Cut the top and the bottom off the pineapple. I usually stand the pineapple up on its end and slice downward, removing the rind and trying to leave about ¼ inch of the fruit left on the rind. Cut up the rind up in pieces so that they will drop in the gallon jar.

image.png

Use the fruit of the pineapple for other recipes or freeze for later use. Add the sugar (I used ¾ cup of brown) and go ahead and drop in the spices (if desired).
image.png

Cover with enough filtered water to come up on the neck of the jar. If you use tap water the chlorine can inhibit the fermentation, so use filtered water. Give the ingredients a real good stir. I just used a wooden spoon and then I covered the top with a cotton cloth. You can use a cheese cloth or towel or sprouting lid.

image.png

Leave it sitting a cool, dry place away from any direct light. Leave here for 3 days, but stirring each day. Just stir it real good one time a day to put oxygen back in. By Day 2 your smell should be a deep rich pineapple. It should be smelling good, not bad in any way! By day 3 you should have plenty of bubbles and pretty much the top covered with bubbles and the taste should be a bubbly, carbonated pineapple.

image.png

Strain the contents of the gallon jar thru a metal strainer. I strained mine twice but I don’t think a
second strain is necessary.

image.png

I had grolsch bottles on hand so I bottled into those and put into the fridge for the second fermentation.

image.png

The good yeast that grow in the 1st fermentation eat the sugar in the 2nd fermentation and thats what gives you the cool fizzy taste. The fermentation time is so short, there is not enough time to turn into alcohol. The ending result served over ice is the most amazing fizzy pineapple, slightly clovey drink that everyone is sure to enjoy.

image.png

My Fermenting Notes:

  • I want to try adding a little jalapeno or basil to the next batch.
  • I don't think I left enough flesh on the skins. If you cut the skins too thin you can add some core.
  • Maybe Add some chunks of flesh if you have a small pineapple.
  • I will go with 2 cinnamon sticks next time. We just love cinnamon.
  • Be careful with leaving your first ferment longer than 3 days. You can turn this into vinegar quick.
  • Try regrowing a pineapple with the top you cut off.

image.png

Sort:  

I love fermented ginger-turmeric soda and kombucha. Never heard of this one before though. thanks for sharing. Bookmarked it and def will give it a try!

Ginger and tumeric sounds really good. I am ready to try coconut water kefir this week. I am loving this brand new probiotic adventure.

Happy fermenting! Really should start a batch of that too with all the fresh coconuts here. Def let us know how it turned out!

What a great idea!! I love a fizzy water drink, this is perfect. I can't wait to try it. I was just at the store today and almost bought a pineapple, rats! Oh well, next time! Resteeming this great post!

We are crazy over it! So refreshing and unbelievably easy. Many Benefits and different combos to play around with. I am going to test another new ferment this week with coconut. Thank you for your support and resteem! I am thrilled you liked this :)

This sounds great! I buy fresh pineapple all the time, but usually compost the skin. I'll have to give this a try some time soon.

You should try for sure. If you like pineapples, I am positive you will dig it. I think with white sugar I would use a cup. I have only made with brown sugar. It is a very refreshing drink. I am glad you liked the recipe. Let me know if you try and like it.

I really like this activity, good luck always.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 22:04:14
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 30.30/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank