๐ŸŒบ Hive Community Garden Journal Challenge - May

in #homesteading โ€ข 4 years ago

What's going on in your (indoor) garden, on your balcony, in your homestead or on your farm this month? Let us take a peek and maybe you'll win one of the prizes.

Garden journal challenge.png
Source

Getting There

After the cat died on May 11th, I didn't feel like doing anything. I completely neglected everything, the garden included. Earlier this week, I managed to get myself going again. These last couple of days, I've been busy planting out all my seedlings.
Slowly but steady (my back is still not good enough to work more than an hour at a time in the garden), it's all coming together.

I completely messed up my plans to not overdo it this year, lol. The greenhouse is looking pretty full already, even though most plants are still very small. (I've taken some pics, which I'll show you in a next post.) There's still a lot of work to be done outside of the greenhouse, though. I hope to be able to get most of my veggies in the ground some time this weekend.

I'm still fighting the ants invasion. There seem to be thousands of those creepy little bastards that decided to move into my raised beds. And the more I get annoyed by them, the more I see. (I guess it's like pregnant ladies see other pregnant ladies everywhere - I'm so obsessed by those ants I see them wherever I look. ๐Ÿ˜‚)
After literally trying every (organic) trick in the book, I finally decided to buy some nematodes that are supposed to make sure the ants will move their nests elsewhere. The problem is that I need to keep the ground moist all the time for 2 to 4 weeks. Since we're experiencing the hottest and driest spring in over 100 years, that's definitely not an easy job. I can't even remember what rain looks like - and that's coming from someone living in rainy Belgium. ๐Ÿ˜†
I'm trying my best, and keeping my fingers crossed that it works.



Anyway... It's that time of the month again...

Welcome to the Hive Community Garden Journal Challenge, which encourages you to share your monthly (indoor) garden/balcony updates with your the community and create your own garden journal.



divider.jpg

A Shoutout To Our Previous Contributors.

As always, a little shoutout to the previous participants. We've had different gardeners joining this challenge in every edition. The participants' base follows the seasons in the different parts of the world.

@abitcoinskeptic, @briarch, @astrizak, @nikv, @porters, @enjar, @fotostef, @sayee, @proto26, @plantstoplanks, @nikolina

I'm inviting all of them to post another update in their personal garden journal.

I also want to invite @zekepickleman, who already posted an entry yesterday.

Off course this challenge is open for everyone who is growing vegetables, herbs, flowers, succulents or any other plants, indoors or outdoors.

If you havenโ€™t joined before, feel free to start now. The more the merrier! There are plenty of people who are enjoying to see what's going on in other people's garden, farm or balcony.


(It's great to see the #gardenjournal tag being used by people throughout the month. Even though I haven't been around much, I try to follow up on all posts that use the tag, even outside of this monthly challenge.)



divider.jpg

The Challenge

The rules haven't changed:


rules.png
Image Source, edited with The Logo Creator 7
Click Image To Enlarge



Please also include a link back to this challenge somewhere in your post.


You can include whatever you want in your post, but please remember that the pictures should be the most important aspect of your post.

filmstrip2208127_1920.jpg

Image Source


Show us how your plants, herbs, flowers, succulents or vegetables are doing. Share what youโ€™ve been doing in your garden, on your farm or on your balcony. Don't forget to let us know if you are dealing with things like fungus, caterpillars, aphids, and - even more important - hรณw youโ€™re dealing with those.

In short, tell us the story of your garden.


divider.jpg

๐Ÿ† Rewards

As always, all entry posts will receive an upvote from my personal account.

When this post reaches payout, I will select the two entries that I liked most.

Iโ€™ll reward the top 2 posts with a 10 Hive prize.

I will also choose 2 random participants who will each receive 2 Hive



Prizes will be given out once I get the winners post up, which will be after this post has reached payout. Make sure you submit your entry before that time.

divider.jpg

Grab That Camera

Are you still reading? What are you waiting for? Grab that camera and go make some awesome pics of your (indoor) garden, your balcony or wherever you are growing your plants, herbs, flowers or crops.

Show off your green thumb, or the lack of it, and create another chapter in your very own garden journal for 2020.

photographer868106_1920.jpg
Source


I'll can't wait to see your updates!



garden journal footer.png

divider.jpg



signature.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software



Images have been sourced inside the post. Images that aren't sourced were create with The Logo Creator 7.
Source of divider images





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive





HHYM.gif

Sort: ย 

Hope to see many entries. Ants are a real problem. We too get these here. Spraying either saltwater or a mix of tobacco and soap water will help drive the ants away.

Ah, right... tobacco is something I haven't tried yet. ๐Ÿ‘
That will be the next thing on the list - although I'd rather have them move out than having to kill them, but I'm getting pretty desperate here :0)

My entry
https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@sayee/the-vitamin-rich-leafy-vegetable-the-water-leaf-plant
I do hope these posts will inspire people to start to consider farming and one does not even need much of land for it.

Thanks, @sayee

Thanks for joining, @dzoji.

My pleasure @simplymike ๐Ÿ˜Š

I hope I am not to late for the Garden Journal Challenge!
Here is my entry - https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@porters/may-garden-update-for-the-hive-community-garden-journal-challenge

Things are blooming!

Good to see your garden is doing good, @enjar

YAY!

So great to reconnect with you and the awesome gardening community here. Whenever I need a breath, I know that @simplymike would like me to enjoy some time in the garden with my camera.

https://hive.blog/powerhousecreatives/@zekepickleman/the-pickleman-family-garden-2020

You have seen mine already but hopefully others get inspired to do a #gardenjournal no matter the expanse of their garden. If this city boy can build a box and fill it with dirt and seeds, anyone can. Plus it is nice to see gardens from across the globe.

Thanks for reconnecting, @zekepickleman. ๐Ÿ˜

I just love to see all those journals. Make me smile, every time again

Hello @simplymike. Hope I made it on time! ๐Ÿ˜ I have problems with loading my pictures so it took me so long to make my post. ๐Ÿ˜ข

Anyway, here it is:

https://esteem.app/gems/@gingbabida/my-garden-journal-or-may-2020

7ejvs2.jpg

Thank you so much! โค

Here is my entry for this month's Garden journal challenge...

https://peakd.com/gardenjournal/@nikolina/garden-journal-challenge-may

Thanks for joining again, @nikolina

It's not a kitty, but something cute and fuzzy did make its way into my garden post this month...great to hear you are getting some good stuff going in your part of the world, too!
https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@plantstoplanks/may2020gardenupdatealmosttomatotimeingeorgia-891ngg9qh0

Thanks for joining again, @fotostef

I've already been harvesting some leafy vegetables and I should be harvesting a lot of different things in June! I even solved a big issue with water damage. It was a busy month!

https://peakd.com/hive-114308/@abitcoinskeptic/first-produce-this-year-my-garden-journal-may-2020

Great update, @abitcoinskeptic. Thanks

Thank you โ™กโ™กโ™กโ™ก

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @porters) - join our community here.
Ants can be a real pest! Hope your nematodes work! Great to have this Garden Journal challenge happening promoting gardening on Hive! I'll get my post in soon!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

Thanks!!

Hi @simplymike, you have received a small bonus upvote from MAXUV.
This is to inform you that you now have new MPATH tokens in your Hive-Engine wallet.
Please read this post for more information.
Thanks for being a member of both MAXUV and MPATH!

Shared on Twitter #posh

Sorry about your cat. I would be devastated if something happened to one of my kitties. Just yesterday morning Leia wouldn't come out of hiding; not even for her morning meal or when we shook the treat bag. She was effectively lost as we were looking everywhere for her and I was beginning to wonder if she was sick or something. She seems fine though.
Anyways...
I'm excited to participate in this month's contest and looking forward to seeing other gardens too! Hope you're doing well! Don't strain yourself!

Thanks. I am still devastated myself, tbh...
Good to hear the cat was okay! ๐Ÿ‘

Looking forward to your entry!

I think the lockdown have driven many people to grow their own food, me for a start, and I have ti say its been a very rewarding journey so far. I'm definitely in!

Yes, I think a lot of people have picked up gardening. At least that lockdown is good for something ๐Ÿ˜

Can't wait to see what you've got going on.

Great garden photos initiative and these days when most of us stay at home, this comes as a glove!

Thanks, @behiver ๐Ÿ˜

I wonder why I wasn't included in the list of shoutout. Maybe because I wasn't able to submit an entry last month? But I would really love to participate this month. Hopefully, I could still make it. ๐Ÿ˜

Sorry, @gingbabida. Yeah, the shoutout list is just the list of people who have participated that previous month. I hope you'll manage to get an entry up

I'm making one now. ๐Ÿ˜

Sorry to hear about your cat ๐Ÿ˜ฟ

Here's my entry: https://hive.blog/hive-183841/@nikv/garden-update-for-may