Harvesting Those Delicious Elephant Garlic Scapes

As much as I love the beautiful flowers that pop out of my elephant garlic, I have recently learned that the scapes they grow on taste DELICIOUS! So, I've decided to harvest some of them.

I am also interested to see how cutting the scapes affects the development of the bulb/cloves. I have heard that cutting the scape (flower stalk) before it blooms out allows the plant to divert the energy it would have used for reproduction to bulb development. At the end of the season, after I dig these things up, I will compare the plants with harvested scapes to those where I let the flowers bloom.

#shedwars
#teamwoodcutter
#homesteading
#gardening


Check Us Out On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Sustainably-Yours-Homestead-417473462430857/


Music:
Grass by Silent Partner:

Sort:  

This post has been manually selected and voted by Indiaunited community. If you are still not in the Indiaunited discord, you can join the Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @sustainablyyours! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!