I can't believe how many seeds we got from this snake gourd!

If you are a homesteader, then your goal is to be as self sufficient as you can possible be. That means, you don't want to have to visit the big box stores every spring when it comes time to get your garden planted. And, THAT is where heirloom seeds come in.

Buying a single pack of heirloom seeds this season could mean that you will ALWAYS be able to grow that variety of plant. All you have to do is save a few seeds. I've only recently begun trying to save seeds, and I was SHOCKED at how many you can collect just from a single fruit! Check this out!

THIS IS WHY I LOVE HEIRLOOM SEEDS

Sort:  

If they sprout like tomatillos then they are a cornucopia. It really is amazing how many seeds are in some vegetables, if people would only pay attention and not just straight devour it.

Tomatillos are on my list of things to try for next year. Any particular varieties you recommend?

It really doesn't matter too much as they are all pretty similar. They really vary in the sweetness. I got some green tomatillo in a veggie box one year and saved one to plant, I haven't saved seeds since and they blow up all over the garden year after year, pretty much garden herpes.

Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!!!!