"I hear Him more audible than I do most people."

in #humanity2 years ago (edited)

Candy was a drug addict on the streets of Minneapolis for many, many years.

Then, four years ago, she quit.

I met her Saturday donating food and clothing at one of the Minneapolis homeless encampments.

"It can only be by the grace of God that I stayed sober," she said.

20220221_143121.00_52_58_39.Still006.jpg

"He's just restored everything in my life, and He just keeps giving me more. I got reconnected with my son who's in the military. I have a granddaughter who's four years old."

"What do the people think who knew you?" I asked.

"They are super amazed," Candy replied with a smile.

But what I especially wanted to know from Candy was -- How does one tap into this power?

"Is it like a radio frequency? You're tuned into God?" I asked. "You're tuned into what Jesus would have you do when you wake up in the morning? You feel that?"

"I hear Him more audible than I do most people," she said straight at me. "It's that soft, still voice inside if you.

"But sometimes," she continued with a chuckle, "it's loud!"

"Is it available to everyone?" I asked.

"It's available to everyone."

"What must they do?"

"They just gotta surrender to Him."

"But what does that mean?"

"Open your heart, your mind, your soul," she stated calmly. "It's the surrender. And the obedience. And letting the Holy Spirit lead you."

20220221_143121.00_42_54_53.Still002.jpg


I've been asking myself these questions a lot these days.

I was glad to have Candy share her wisdom and hope with me.

Perhaps it'll be impactful for you as well.

Have a spirit-filled week, friends.

And if you'd like to donate to Candy's mission work, you can do so here:

https://pushpay.com/g/freegraceminneapolis

I'll have Candy's story along with the many others I'm gathering in my series on YouTube.