Hurricane Prep and Filling the Rain Barrels

in #hurricane4 years ago

Just getting into the hurricane here. Hurricane Teddy. What an un-menacing name for a storm. Nothing but rain and a few gusts so far, but it's still early and just starting to pick up while I type this.

There was a bit of a break in the rain so I went out and checked on some things. Good thing I did, one of the gutters had a blockage of pine needles so I got that cleared before the real water starts.

This flower also decided to bloom today, of all days. The rest of them look like they packed it in during some frost we had a few days ago, but this guy pulled through.

20200922_164902.jpg

We actually got so much rain already, I was able to completely fill the two rain barrels I recently installed. We haven't had much rain in a while and I only had a bit of water in there to test the install so it completely filled them today. Considering it hasn't really been much more than a regular rainy day so far, that's a considerable amount of water coming off the roof.

I always knew it was a lot of rain through that one gutter, but I never realized it was that much. I might have to extend the barrel system another two barrels.

20200922_165215.jpg

I used the spray gun to paint these barrels and they are holding up well. They look a lot better the same color as the deck rather than their usual blue.

While the rain was still holding off, I also ran the two hose connections out to the woods. I needed to drain the barrels because there was still a bit of apple syrupy sugar in the bottom of one and I needed to rinse it out. Might as well move some water away from the house since there's still plenty of rain to come.

20200922_165219.jpg

I'm not sure how easy it will be to sleep tonight while a hurricane rages outside, although it's nothing new. I'm expecting the power to go out soon, and the generator is good to go for the fridge and water pump should it be gone a few days. I just hope there aren't many trees lost I have to clean up, or worse, deal with an insurance company because a tree takes something out.