I Just Want To Shout Out This Inkscape Developer For Reaching Out To Me

in #inkscape2 years ago (edited)

![inkscapespalha.png](]()

For those who may not know, Inkscape is a free & open-source vector-graphics design program that is an excellent alternative to Adobe Illustrator. I've been using Inkscape ever since I moved to Linux as my primary OS. I designed the DS-Tech Media logo with it, and I use it to design my OBS-Studio scenes and layouts, most of the graphics in my videos, and every video thumbnail.

I'd be interested to have you test 1.2 and see if it's heading in the right direction for you. https://t.co/crsKOFquDD

— Martin Owens (@realdoctormo) February 18, 2022

I replied to a tweet by Linux GameCast who mentioned that in their latest episode of Linux Weekly Daily Webcast that Inkscape would be getting a user-interface overhaul. In my reply I mentioned that the first major overhaul from version 1.0 had made Inkscape unusable for me, and Martin Owens(@realdoctormo on Twitter) reached out, and asked me to test the 1.2-alpha release and let him know if it fixed my issues.

And Sure Enough, IT DID!

Basically I use Inkscape for 85% of any visual work I do, and I've been stuck using 0.92 because of the weird issues with the interface on 1.0.
Having a developer from one of the main tools you use reach out to you on Twitter is an awesome experience, and just another benefit of open-source software.
I'll wait until there's an official release before I move to 1.2, but it's a relief to know that I won't have to stick with 0.92 forever since there's so many awesome new features.