Harmless creatures, part 2

in #insect2 years ago (edited)

So, house centipedes and silverfish - two insects for which my previous post was originally intended.
But I didn't manage to get to its bottom yesterday. That is why I am continuing today. Again, the pictures I'm using, are just illustrative and have nothing to do with the animals I'm talking about. (Do you know how fast they usually run? 😄)

IMG_20220622_215943.jpg

Maybe I should start with silverfish, as my most recent experiences are with a representative of this species... that one night crossed the cover of my bed. 😆

IMG_20220622_220129.jpg

If I hadn't read anything about this animal, I would have crushed it on the bed cover in a second, as I usually have done before. Because, I don't know why, but I've always been convinced that this is exactly what should be done when meeting it.

IMG_20220601_193009~2.jpg

But as I told you yesterday, looking for information about other insects, I came across information about it too - in the section "most common domestic insects".

IMG_20220601_193014~2.jpg

And there it was written that this little animal should not be killed and it was explained why. Well, I did not save this information and closed the page, and when now, writing this post, I am again looking for information about this animal, it turns out that I can not find exactly this site that contained, I would say, words of praise for it. I find others who say that this animal, when it reunites with other... siblings? 😅, can destroy your clothes or your books.

IMG_20220622_220033.jpg

But how many such animals do you see in your home? And how often do you see them? Maybe once a month or even less often you can see someone running along the wall or ceiling of the room. And that's it. No invasions, no huge quantities.

IMG_20220622_215910.jpg

So this situation is in the realm of probabilities and in practice it happens very rarely.
This is like saying in an animal's description that its bite is so strong that it could bite a human. But in practice, this animal never bites.
Thus, silverfish are harmless beings and feed on a number of tiny animals, some of which we cannot even see, such as mites.

IMG_20220619_222042.jpg

Centipede - the next star of this post.

IMG_20220619_232600.jpg

They are terrifying animals, I know. 😅
I'm sure we all jump in fear in the air when we see them running along the wall of our room. And not only this. I have always been convinced that these creatures are poisonous. And that if they crawl on your arm, they will leave inflammation on the skin behind.
And that if you don't kill them in an instant, they will wait for you to fall asleep, so that they will crawl on your skin. In short - vile monsters. 😅

IMG_20220619_232630.jpg

Well, that's not true, of course. It turns out that these are extremely useful animals that are constantly fighting the invaders in the home. Even cockroaches!

IMG_20220619_222110.jpg

So, centipedes and silverfish - think first before throwing a shoe or other object at them the next time you see them. 😊


Copyright: @soulsdetour


Hive.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.
Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 111 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
14

Hello dear friend @soulsdetour good day
I did not know this information, I thought the same as you, that they were poisonous.
A few months ago I woke up with a swollen hand and in a lot of pain, as I found one of these insects at the foot of the bed, I blamed it for what I had in my hands
I appreciate you sharing this information.
have a great day

Dear @jlufer, as I see the comment below too, I will now edit my post with links to the real creatures I'm talking about. So that there is no confusion and so that it does not turn out that we are talking about different animals. Anyway, this information is new to me too, but I decided to share it because I read it in many places and I hope it is not wrong.
!PIZZA

Hi @soulsdetour interesting post, although you could not capture with photos all insects you read your passion and curiosity for the subject.

How nice to read that there are only harmless centipedes there 😊, in latinamerica there are several types and mostly poisonous especially the giant scolopendra lethal to humans.🤭😌🫣

I invite you to post in the community of those passionate about the Vida Verde 🔥💚🔥

Dear @cvnuitter, I already edited my post with direct links to the Wikipedia sites about these creatures. 😄 It is only about the domestic centipede, which is a harmless species.
We have already met the scolopendra twice in the house (once even in the bedroom 😱) and it was a great horror, killing it with a shovel 😁, following the instructions on the Internet, as it is a poisonous and aggressive animal.
Thank you for your invitation to post in your lovely community!
!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@soulsdetour(2/5) tipped @cvnuitter (x1)
soulsdetour tipped jlufer (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!