Brave browser - Towards the future of blockchain browsing experience

in #internet5 years ago

One week back I came to know about Brave browser through some of my friends in Neoxian city. To be honest, the first point that attracted me towards the browser was the fact that it rewards for browsing the internet. I was excited to explore this and installed it on all my devices. I initially started off with my laptop first and then installed it on my mobile as well. When I installed it, I did not understand the concept. Even till today I'm not sure if I understood it fully. That's a different story but I'm really enjoying the experience. I would like to share what I'm enjoying. I will list out some of the points that makes the browser an awesome experience for me:

ccfulwccrq.png

Source

  • Chromium - The first reason why I like this browser is because it is built on Chromium open source browser. This is the same browser on top of which Google Chrome is built. We all know how popular Google Chrome is. In the usability perspective, there is no difference between Chromium and Google Chrome.
  • Absolutely no ads - Anybody who feels that our browser is usually filled with lots of ads when we browse will find this to be really fascinating because there is absolutely no ads if you browse the internet through Brave browser. This feature has both advantages as well as disadvantages but considering the benefits of end user, we can consider this to be advantageous because it gives a ad free browsing experience.
  • Brave Rewards - When you are browsing the internet, what if you get an option to get some rewards as well. I have not fully understood this rewards concept yet. But so far, from what I have seen, there is a token called BAT token which is used for rewarding the users as well as the sites that has a link with Brave community. You also get BAT tokens as tips now and then which you will be able to use on your favorite websites to tip them. It comes with an expiry date which means, you have to spend it before it expires.
  • Cool Stats - The browser shows cool stats when I login. Though the numbers seen here are very less. I have been using brave on 3 of my devices. The count is quite high on my other devices.
    rnpsu9zl96.png
  • Home page Image - The image displayed in the home page is really soothing to the eyes. It is a CCO licenced image from pexels website and it keeps changing every few minutes. The credit of the image is also displayed at the bottom making the user popular.
  • Brave ads - You can also earn BAT tokens by watching brave ads that will be sent as a notification to you. Currently the brave ads are not available for many countries. Rather I would say that the brave ads is available only for certain countries in which my country's name is not there. I get a message like below on my browser. In spite of getting this message, I still received a BAT token tips from the team for me to spend on other websites.

gfy1p8wqh3.png

Apart from whatever I have said above something that really motivates me to use this browser is the fact that I can browse without any unwanted ads with more security. I'm not distracted towards any unwanted websites.

When am I using other browsers?

I'm still dependent on other browsers even though I have made Brave browser as my default browser. The reason is because there are many website content creators and bloggers for whom the google ads displayed on their website is the source of income. I know few of my favorite youtube channels that completely rely on the source of income they get from the ads they display on their youtube videos. When I watch those videos I switch to other browsers to watch the ads because that gives a source of income to the video creator. In that sense ethically I feel that Brave browser can be a big pain for many content creators who are highly dependent on the source of income from the Google ads they display on their blogs and videos. Brave browser can be a hindrance to that.

Sort:  

Thanks for writing about your experience so far with the brave browser. I will probably give it a try.

Posted using Partiko Android