Hi! I'm Jaro and this is my introductory verification post!

in #introducemyself8 years ago

So, because I can't edit the previous introduction post with new information I'm creating a second one here.

Mushrooms
Mushrooms

I'm a photographer, enthusastic Go player, and a long time Linux user. I also play some computer games and alto+soprano recorder. I also have a self-assembled 3d-printer I dabble with every now and then. While I did graduate as an artesan learning mainly SolidWorks, I prefer to use FreeCAD for my creations.

I run a local Go club Saarto with about 10 more or less active players. We've been playing together for over 4 years now.

I am planning to advertise our club a bit so other interested players could join our games. We have also talked about expanding our reach to kids in the schools of our own children. The plan is to run a series of go club activities in their school, preferably create a club event of few weeks or months. We'll see how that idea works out, but it's still in planning stages.

Game of Go in our club
Game of Go in our club

I have two amazing, artistically talented sons, Leo and Miro, whom I love both very much. I try to be a good father, sometimes I succeed, sometimes I fail.

Leo and Miro
Leo is 10 years old, and Miro turns 6 next week.

Parenting is a tough job, but very rewarding. I might have to write about it every now and then. Both my boys know how to play Go and Chess, they also love other board games, Go not so much, I wonder why. They recently bought a PlayStation 3 with their weekly "earnings" though, so board games have experienced a slight inflation lately anyway.

That's me!
The thing is, I'm not very good with selfies.

I love cryptocurrencies, they are the future.

I have opinions, some may like them, some don't.

There are places you can find me on the Internet:
@AmbyR00 on Diaspora
@AmbyR00 on Twitter
AmbyR00 on DGS, OGS and Pandanet (IGS)
World is my Goban (Blog)
...and of course I have some empty Youtube channels, but maybe we'll get to them some other time.

It's getting very late so I'll finish my introductory post here. I'll be seeing you guys in the next posting!

Oh, and if you liked what you read and saw, please consider upvoting and/or subscribing! It'd really make my day! :)

[previous post]

Sort:  

welcome to this wonderful community Good Luck

Thank you very much! :) It's already been much fun, and I'll try to keep making quality content to see if it catches on.

Bienvenidos

And hello to you too! :)

you have a new follower

Hello Jaro, welcome to Steemit! :-)

Thank you!

Nice introductory post! Being a go player what did you think of Google DeepMind's performance against the human player?

Thank you!

I think Lee Sedol could have played a bit better, and it's quite obvious there are still some oddities in DeepMind's style of play. It seems to not be able to calculate a proper tesuji whenever it is playing a losing game. The thing is that because it's programmed to always play the best move, its programming seems to lack the imagination of a human player, thus it ends up playing a lot of clearly bad moves whenever it can't think of a one "best move".

Whenever it has gained the advantage though, that's a whole another thing.

I ended up losing 1 BTC because I made a bet against DeepMind.

I'm thinking Ke Jie might give it a run for it's life if they ever get to play, although DeepMind is quite strong when it plays correctly, and human is prone to err too.

Hello and welcome to Steemit!
This introduction post has been nominated for the @projectnewbie incentive where we try and get new and verified users more visibility on their first post to make it easier to connect to other users!
If you have any questions about it, this is the Announcement Post. Have fun Steeming! :)

Thank you a lot! I appreciate it. Glad I found Steemit, it might be just what I needed having been hung up with my creative and motivational blockage for so long.

Sadly this wasn't really a first post anymore, as I wasn't aware of @projectnewbie before creating those 6 earlier posts, thus I might not qualify. :(

Interesting. I thought go or weiqi is more of a Chinese or at least more Asian. I know we have a weiqi association in Singapore. I remember passing by a place a night festival and seeing their sign. So, I did some googling and found this for you though I'm not familiar with the game :
http://weiqi.org.sg/

Weiqi is becoming more and more popular around the world. The Google DeepMind challenge stirred up new interest in the game, and even our own club got a few new members after the game between Lee Sedol and DeepMind.

Yep. In Asia it is pretty much the game-de-jour. There are also a lot, i mean a LOT of professional players in China, Korea and Japan, but even a small nordic country like Finland, where I live, we have managed to 'produce' one professional weiqi player, Antti Törmänen.

I recommend you to try it out, if you have any affection to board games, you might like it. :)

You can learn the simple rules at the Interactive Way To Go and/or get taught at a weiqi association held event or a local club. There are also many servers to play on on the Internet. Pages for beginners may be of help too.

Thanks for adding more interesting information.