Mateusz Pawluczuk - Who am I and why I'm on Hive

in #introducemyself3 years ago (edited)

Currently in Dubai :)

Greetings everyone! It's customary for the first post to be an introduction and I intend to follow suit. Best way to describe yourself, say hello and connect with the community all at once. Actually I might put a link to this post on my profile page so that in the future if anyone wants to know more about me they can simply look here and get a general idea.

I am not entirely new to Hive even though this is my first post. I created my account in April 2018 but until now it’s been mostly used passively for reading, commenting, upvoting and so on. At the time it made sense as there was just too much opportunism on the platform and by using my account passively it felt I’m proving that Hive (and Steem before it) is not a place to ‘get rich quick’. Instead it's a real alternative to existing social networks together with consumable content, viable blockchain solutions, active engaged community and so on.

Since then things seem to have gotten a bit better and guess it's about time I become more active! But to stay in a similar spirit I'm planning to disable payouts for this and future posts. I feel payouts might benefit others more than they would benefit me.

There's a lot of reasons why I see blockchain technology as a way to help preserve information or at least give us a shot at attempting to preserve some of it for longer. From book burning, to destruction of the Mosul Museum to something as mundane as Joe Rogan deleting his podcasts from Youtube we're constantly reminded none of this is forever. As power changes hands and changes its form - information gets erased, gets edited or gets corrupted. If blockchain and decentralization can be seen as a countermeasures then what's not to like. Obviously other aspects like creator economy, tokenomics etc these are great as well.

And who am I? For most I'm just Mat or Mateusz, you can also find me under my alias Przecin (or Przecinek) which is derived from Polish word for comma ❜ ❜ ❜ ❜ The origins are a bit coincidental, but the nickname has stuck and been part of my identity since early days. And what can you expect from my posts? First of all #Technology related topics, I'm a big enthusiast of Virtual Reality, but also follow BCI, blockchain and anything that's potentially disruptive (or disturbing). On the other hand I'm big on #travelling and backpacking. It's a bit of my own Yin and Yang. I've been travelling since 2008, visited a lot of places and met a lot of great people.

In Guatemala back in 2014

In Guatemala back in 2014

Our planet is so beautiful in its diversity. From northern glaciers to Sahara with all the different cultures and various customs. When you travel you also get to interact with the better side of humanity, at least on average lol It's such a shame to see all of it dissolve. I'm talking about climate change but not only.. which is why I also have great admiration for all sorts of #activism that disrupts the status quo and challenges existing power centres. You can expect some book recommendations in that regard.

In front of Belmarsh 07.09.2020

In front of Belmarsh 07.09.2020

So if any of this sounds interesting, give me a follow and let's roll!

Thanks and Cheers!
Mat


Links to other profiles:
Twitter: @Przecin83 (VR related)
Youtube: Przecinek (Travel)
Medium: Mat Pawluczuk
Google: Mateusz Pawluczuk

Sort:  

ach, a więc to tak?
no dobra 😛

Congratulations @przecinek! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP