You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Zcoin Joins Steemit !

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

This is great, learned about zcoin 2 days ago, made me realize that coins that provide privacy are now at a point where speculating on the value of privacy driven coins was fad. The zcoin concept is so simple that it puts shame to monero and zcash. I even predict the slow death of monero as a result. I went on bittrex to buy some zcoin but felt like $1.90 was too high a price. Perhaps I will buy some if it goes back under 90 cents, or if one day I feel like I need to use the utility of privacy, zcoin would be my choice.

Sort:  

For what it's worth ... secure multiparty computation requires a trusted setup.

Unless I'm a party in the multiparty (or you are, too), why anyone would trust a trusted setup is beyond me. Note that there is no indication that the secure multiparty computation was compromised and currently there is no auditing mechanism to find out!

Ring signatures, on the other hand, suffer from sybil attacks in that a malicious actor could try to make available his public keys to be included in the signature.

That said ... just because people (speculators) don't understand the intricacies of a particular technology, i.e. the mathematics, doesn't always imply that the token is not a good investment vehicle.

Finding out in detail how much a dev understands this technical background is always a good start.

Then again ... I tend to invest tokens based on utility, application, and, foremost, technical prowess and innovation.

ZCoin is most definitely on the list.

yes, speculators like myself mostly go by utility than technical prowess, and while it may take some advanced technical prowess to effectively provide privacy on blockchain, the utility of privacy is not worth anything speculatively because of so many coins who claim to have or will have privacy, steem included https://steem.io/roadmap/confidential/

You may be right, except ONLY those that have been proven to have the best rock-solid privacy will become the ones that rich people with $Millions will store their money. For example if you have money you wish o hide from your wife because of divorce laws in your country, you will not risk that by using a coin that "claims to have" privacy or has weak privacy and/or security (for example Dashcoin). For the majority of saving accounts which will not have much money, yeah, most people will not care and good-enough privacy is OK. So there will be different coins with different use-cases. Both may gain sizeable market cap but for different reasons - different users and use cases.

Glad to hear your a recent fan @craig-grant, make sure to follow our developments we have a lot coming that we are excited about.

Please explain how MTP works. Many of us do not have time to read a white paper or interpret it.

Apologies for the extremely late reply!

Basically it is an algorithm that can make miners work very hard using immense amounts of RAM (even up to 10gb) making ASICS development very costly, while remaining very lightweight for nodes to verify the proof of work so that they don't need to have high memory requirements.

is short video on it.

Did anyone regret NOT buying DASH when it was 2$ ? I did. I mean I had multiple chances to buy that but I didn't. And now? It's history.

When DASH was $2 there were better buys on the market, like ether or bitcoin, dash was a good buy when it got to about $10. Dash is not up because it has privacy, it's because master nodes are holding dash

Not it was less than 2$ when no ETH is around. Define better buys? For me an 8x with stable volume and price is clearly a best buy. Btw I do agree with ur statement about masternode value of DASH.

you are right, when dash was $2.90, eth was about 90 cents, but very scary to buy because of the big "warning don't buy". I did buy DASH at $3 after getting some free dash, eventually sold it for eth tho. All these coins are 100% speculative, I cant hold any of them for a long time. I sold $7000 worth of ether for steem power, utility of hyper inflation and blogging rewards. I have already got back my $7000 investment and still have lots of steem power, so that was good move. Steem power forces me to hold, and that's the only way I can hold.

Craig this is very true and something that many, (if not most?), Dash speculators do not realize. Over half of the Dash market cap is "locked up" in Masternodes. Now yes, anyone can sell their 1000 Dash coins per MN, but the fact that they receive that 11% "interest" payments gives them even more incentives to not sell.

"The zcoin concept is so simple that it puts shame to monero and zcash." Please explain why you think this. Thanks.