Dogs of the Dow

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)


Dogs of the Dow is a fairly simple investment strategy.

Basically buy the worst performers (bottom third) of the stocks that make up the Dow Jones Industrial Index (DJIA), hold them for a year, sell them, and do it over and over again.

To me "Worst Performing" is simply a matter of share price movement, but many others judge it in terms of Dividend Yields.

In my younger days, I was schooled in the "Efficient Market" Hypothesis and would of told you a strategy like Dow of the Dogs would not work because the expected effect would already have been priced in.

In the years since, research by Behavioral Economists has indicated that the Efficient Market Hypothesis are not able to explain the out performance that the Dogs of the Dow investment strategy appears to deliver.

So each week, I am going to review some of the Dogs as I build my portfolio and monitor their performance. Lets see if it really does tend to outperform the market.

Sort:  

I'll be interested to follow this one. I looked into DotD a while back but never tried it.

I wrote a Steemit post also, and suggested it may be possible to do a similar thing with crypto exchanges rather than stock exchanges.

I look forward to seeing how you get on with it !

Maybe you could call it Crypto Dogs.

ha ha, fitting name... :-) I still might try it someday, for crypto. I don't trade it as a rule but it might be nice to paper trade it anyway, see what happens. Tbh crypto is so flakey you would need to try it for years and years to get a real indication.

Upvoted ($0.14) and resteemed by @investorsclub

Join the Investors Club if you are interested in investing.

@dowdogs I would like to work together on this one. Because it fits with a series of posts I am planning. Let me know if you're interested.

I would be happy to work with you on it.

Better to make sure we complement each other rather then duplicate.


Welcome to Steemit @dowdogs!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 5k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from--> click link
https://discord.gg/dKsHwVz
Join the steemit school on discord channel today

because with the togetherness despite the different places, let us succeed with the affection of the hands only mengevote blog our colleagues @zuhrafriska

Congratulations @dowdogs!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 240,3

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on Steemit, feel free to vote for my witness! You can do it here or use SteemConnect

I am excited to see what I will learn from your posts!

welcome friends in steemit hope we can work together @zuhrafriska

Source
#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

More information:

The Game of Tags

Hello dear ! Welcome to Steemit ! I'm a cryptocurrency trader with really good results, 70%, 258%, 300% (REAL) Feel free to join me on Steemit to get great info&way to understand & invest in the crypto world ! CQRTC.

welcome to the steemit and agree with your strategy

Loading...