Indubitably, an Introduction!

What excites me most about Hive is the community, or rather, that the community is so diverse and broad. I’ve poked around a few other crypto-based platforms, as well as other alternative social platforms, and found them to be… a bit sparse in that regard. Where were my artists, my travelers, my musicians, and foodies? As an artist myself, a writer, I wanted a community that offered the potential for a deeper and more hopeful experience. It only took me a little bit of browsing to realize that the Hive community valued a number of the same things I do: respect, growth, self-betterment, food. Seriously, y’all have some great recipes showing up in C/Foodies Bee Hive!

Hive.png

About me

I’m a writer, primarily, with a dual BFA/MFA in creative writing. I’ve worked for a Zen Buddhist organization as the head of their A/V department, traveled a bit (mostly the United States but also to Ireland), and I currently write freelance content online for my living (a little bit of everything, including odd bits of technology that I like, board games, and video games).

Catcup.jpg

I’ve also been a political organizer, working to support the Bernie Sanders campaign in both recent US Presidential elections; my interests in the social sphere are diverse, incorporating environmental security, data privacy, education reformation, M4A, and technological solutions to age-old issues of inequality. My overarching goals are fully socialized support systems and community-centered ideals, as opposed to competitive social or economic systems. I believe that if everyone is taken care of at the basic level, it will improve the lives of everyone, and improve the likelihood that more positive impactful contributions will be made to humanity as a whole!

Why Hive?

Hive-Game.jpg

As I mentioned above, I’d explored several similar concept designs, but Hive struck me as something different. The push for decentralization, here, appealed to me, as well as the clearly global community, and the welcoming atmosphere. I think that there’s a bit of stereotype about people who join a community based on blockchain tech/crypto, and while many people are clearly here with a strong grounding in the technology side of things, it’s lovely to see such a broad range of people in this community.

I’m fairly new to the world of blockchain and crypto myself, having heard about it for years but never getting personally involved. The time just seemed right to change that.

Projects/Writing

I currently focus my main efforts on a few different areas:

  • Finishing a novella that I hope to submit to agents next year.
  • Writing freelance content online to pay the bills.
  • Managing the writing community I founded.
  • Mentoring (I work with people who want to improve their lives through improving their writing to help them reach their goals).
  • And making collaborative projects with my fiancée (primarily on YouTube).

sondeflor.jpg

I’m excited to see what doorways being a member of Hive opens for my creative output: I’ve been writing sporadically on Medium for years but I have a hunch that it will feel more fulfilling to put consistent energy into Hive. I’m looking forward, too, to making more connections with an international community, and learning about potential projects that I might want to explore more deeply. @chrisaiki already directed me toward another neat crypto project dedicated to eco work, and through reading @isthistomorrow‘s introduction, I encountered foldingathome.org, which is extremely exciting (I’m a huge supporter of open-source solutions that take the power out of corporate hands).

Aesthetics

I’m a huge geek for all things sci-fi and cyberpunk, but at the same time cannot get enough of classic fantasy aesthetics. My favorite historical aesthetic is probably a mix between the late 1800s and the mid-1930s (the 1930s had some amazing fashions buoyed on the back of the Great Depression and just before the major changes in the 1940s).

I love old things, antiques, work made with craft and care. But I also grew up on shows like Star Trek, so I dig the smooth and clean aesthetic of organic line and technological simplicity. Retro-tech is also my jam.

Films

Before I started my BFA in creative writing, I undertook studies in film history and film theory (which led to film production and a job in the industry). As such, I’m a total cinephile; I love films from all styles and genres! Science fiction and fantasy always get me, but some other favorites include Ghibli films, Kurosawa’s samurai films (and, actually, his “Dreams” which I think is a masterpiece), and period dramas (the best Pride and Prejudice is the 1995 version, hands-down).


A big thank-you to @macchiata from the @OCD team and @lovesniper for reaching out to me and suggesting that I do an #introduceyourself post!

Sort:  

Welcome indubitablyodin!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

You are such a great inspirer and deserved an accolades
Here's for you 🤗💐

Good day, @indubitablyodin!

If you may, I would like to invite you to join a community called Inspire People, where you may find and post inspiring and uplifting content. It's for everyone who wants to write or read inspirational stories. May the community feed the soul.

Please do visit if you are interested. We're currently recruiting members to join the community.

"Your life is your message to the world. Make sure it's inspiring."