Who AM I? Introducing LiftsLikeaLady

in #introduceyourself2 years ago (edited)

That question will make you pause. Who AM I? Indeed. I feel like a multi-faceted diamond somedays, and other days a rock with many chips. It all depends on perspective. So, without further ado, who am I?

img_0.3805272716813119.jpgI came to Hive because of my brother @bobthebuilder2. He has been on here for a little while, and we finally were able to sit down during the holidays so he could walk me through setting up things. I am on social media mainly with my "side hustle." I am a permanent cosmetic artist.
img_0.8751368845249212.jpg I basically tattoo faces, but mainly eyebrows, eyeliner, and lips. This is just one of the smaller faces of the rock of my identity. Let me tell you a little more about me.

Fitness Me: I love Fitness- Olympic Weightlifting, Crossfit, Running, and being active. Those are my top 3 drugs of choice in the fitness world currently. Our family often goes on waterfall hikes as well to instill a love of the outdoors in our children. img_0.18060055301436814.jpg
I have done Crossfit for approximately 9 years. I accomplished some goals along the way with being able to do at least 1 legitimate pullup. img_0.1770151811246775.jpg I can even do muscle ups now. For Olympic Weightlifting, one goal I have is to compete in the Master's Division. I am working on improving my strength to make that happen. My personal best for a Snatch is 160lbs. and 200# clean and jerk. img_0.5748314167206297.jpg
I am a slow runner but like to do it just to relieve stress and take time to listen to books. I do not have time to sit and read a book much these days, but I can listen when running or driving thanks to Audible. I love mysteries and thrillers of all types. Some of my favorites are books by John Grisham and I love the Red Rising series by Pierce Brown. They have helped me rack up many miles.
img_0.5971089564271991.jpg

Homebody Me: I have 6 children. They are all just under 8 years apart. I was pregnant or nursing for an entire decade of my life. I love them, and always wanted a big family. My husband and I have been married for 20 years and came up with their names over crayons and butcher paper at T.G.I.Friday's- back when they still did flair.
img_0.5900660125586126.jpg

We love flavor and food.
img_0.10441221598373891.jpg We have found that every culture has amazing food, and we aim to discover it. I enjoy sarcasm, and also extremely corny jokes that would make it to the wrappers of Laffy Taffy candy. I don't want to eat the candy, just read the jokes. Speaking of candy, I have an intense sweet tooth, and love to bake. img_0.7769845169051627.jpg Those two combined will help you understand the necessity of my love of fitness. I tell people all the time that I can be really fit or really fat. My baking favorites are with desserts: brownies, cakes, pies, cookies, and my famous cinnamon rolls. I love to bake and am hoping when my kids grow up and smell baked goods, they will think fondly of their mother. We love to watch movies at home also. I have an education, but also consider myself somewhat of an educator having homeschooled one or more kids for 11 years. I love family and traditions.

Philosophical Me: I am an empath, and an optimist. I try to look for the positive in things and learn from the negative. I love a good motivating quote, and I strive to teach my kids to learn from the good and bad as well. I am a big fan of marriage. I believe it is what you put into it for the most part. I also love being a mother. I feel like a parenting guru at this point but am definitely done having children. I like to try and help people with their problems, and I think a lot of problems could be solved simply by the magic of communication! img_0.12458001490031058.jpg
I like to be aware of what is going on with the world in regard to politics and current events. I want to know enough to know what is happening while being able to maintain a balance of not getting too caught up in things. I like to hear both sides to a story and then make up my own mind.

Random Fun Facts: I love pretty and glittery things, and makeup. Costume jewelry, intense colors, Christmas lights all catch my attention. img_0.7179331456923023.jpg I love the idea of writing, but often lack the time to make it happen. I satisfy myself with snippets of writing in my journal, on a calendar, or my great love: post-it notes! I love roller coasters, yet heights scare me. I used to sing and play basketball in high school. I get goosebumps every time I sneeze without fail.

I hope to be able to be able to contribute things that are of value. I want to post about fitness, so it looks like Actifit will be in my future for sure. I love capturing pictures of our life and travels and adventures, so am hoping to post some photography to share. I also want to post things of value that I would want to pass on to my children such as advice, motivational snippets, and how to see the world differently. I want people to have bettered their lives by things that they read, and also mix in some things for fun. I look forward to becoming more fluent in this platform.

img_0.03135309549585332.jpg

Sort:  

Here it is! The intro post finally hahah nice! Officially welcome! Sounds like you’ve got a wonderful life and family that’s for sure! I would have loved more children but there were other plans and that’s okay, ones good for us! We will just convince him and support him to have 6 children of his own hahaha. I think that’s wonderful to have a nice large family!

As I’m sure your brother knows and you’ve learned yourself so far, there’s so many communities out there you can dive right into some. I think we have at least one or two fitness ones and foodie, you’re going to love the foodie community here!

Look forward to seeing you around! I think it’s fantastic there’s families starting to get on here, brothers and sisters etc!

I know! I finally posted it! I was trying to gain some ecency points to promote it, and then it was just sitting there in my draft, so I couldn't start anything else!
We love having a big family amd doing things together. I find myself doing a lot of baking and adventuring, so have started looking for those communities. There are so many things within this platform, but I am slowly getting the hang of things!

One thing I forgot to mention, do you like Dean Koontz as an author? He’s written some really great novels! They have a slight element of science fiction to them but they overall steer along a really good path and are very suspenseful! My favorite series from him has to be his remake of the Frankenstein series! He did an incredible job at it!

Funny, we were helping clean out a house yesterday and the woman who owned it had honestly 40 or 50 hardcover John Grisham books I think lol it was nuts!

Ya know, I have seen his name, but haven't read any of his books. Which books redid the Frankenstein story? That would be really interesting. I also like David Baldacci, Vince Flynn, Robin Cook, Michael Crichton, CS Lewis. . I like good stories, and reading classics. I like Three Musketters, Man in the Iron Mask, Gone With the Wind, Scarlett Pimpernel, Count of Monte Cristo also.

Just looked it up and he wrote 2 more Frankenstein books since I read them! I might have to get myself the two new ones lol

https://www.deankoontz.com/book/5-book-bundle/

Ah some classics for sure, I love the count of Monte Cristo! I read it many years ago but really loved it! I wish I had time to read like I used to, some day hopefully lol

If it wasn't for audible, I wouldn't read much at all.

Great post, sis! That's a great cliff's notes version of you. People will love what you have to offer!

I was trying to do that. I heard people wanted a snapshot for.the intro. :) Hopefully, it was just the right amount of pics!

Great intro and welcome! Share some lifting tips and tricks!

Will do! I just need to figure out the best way to post videos on posts. I have a ton of videos that I can use.

Congratulations @liftslikealady! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Saint-Nicholas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day

Excellent intro post! Cool you were able to meet a lot of us before you put it up - you had an instant upvote from me just cuz we’ve already interacted, but I would have upvoted anyway. Well written and full bodied post…welcome!!!

Thank you so much! It seemed like a lot when I was writing it all out, but I figured pics would help break it all up. It was nice to look around and interact before putting it up there. :)

Yeah that was really smart. I would have done something much different if I’d known then what I know now!

Back when I started I'm pretty sure I didn't post an introduction for about a month lol

Welcome to Hive @liftslikealady. There are quite a few super mums on Hive who balance between family, many kids and a job, but I think you're going to beat them easily single handed 😁!!

Hope you enjoy your time on Hive.

I am trying everyday to be a good mom, and take care of everything else. It is a struggle, but I have learned some things along the way.

I am very much looking forward to seeing your content! I wish you luck in learning how to use this platform as well.

Thank you! I am happy to be here!

Enjoyed reading this! You write well. Reading the comments, it seems like introducing yourself is a normal part of Hive?

Yes, this is what I was told. Some do it first thing, and some within the first month or so.

I guess I will need to start drafting my intro then lol....learning daily

Hello @liftslikealady! This is @chillwithshanna from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team. We saw that you already posted your introduction post here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome!

That is one awesome intro post! You are amazing for managing your time well with all the activities you have, as well as the discipline to stay healthy and fit! Wishing your family happy holidays and enjoy your hive journey!

Also, it's best to subscribe to Communities you like and share your blogs there to have a wider range of audience. Or you can check out the Communities Incubation Program.If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: Newbie guide. If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Also, letting you know since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

Thank you! I need to check out those links!

No matter what life brings us. We women should always love our self. We all deserve to feel like diamonds.

Yes! Some days bring challenges that can make it harder than other days, bit we keep on trying!

Welcome to Hive!!!

I think you will love it here. There is an awful lot to learn, but just take it slow and enjoy the ride. Cool that you have your brother to guide you along. I think of Hive as you say about marriage, it is what you put into it. My best advice is to be social. IOW read and make sincere comments, just like you did on my post. People will notice and will come over to check you out. Easy peasy :)

Thank you! I keep scrolling for posts that seem interesting to me, and that comment what I think. I think this will help me meet new people that share interests that I do as well. What is IOW?

Oh sorry, In Other Words.
My bad, and here I am the old guy 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Ha ha ha. My teen would give me a hard time for not getting that one. I thought it was Hive lingo! Lol

LOL! Of course! Well it will just stay our little secret then 😁

Welcome to ecency and Hive! Did you know that there are many different websites powered by Hive? If you enjoy travel blogging check out TravelFeed.io :) See you around @liftslikealady!

No, I didn't. Thank you for sharing! How do i find them?

Loading...