Solo mom of twins

in #introduceyourself3 years ago (edited)

Completely new to blockchain and its community and being advised to introduce myself first, here's my first shot. I opted for a short story about the most invasive turning point in my life, and which still completely dominates my current life. I thought it would probably be the best way to tell a little bit more about myself.

A few years ago I decided to become a solo mom. I went trough my pregnancy alone, along with the emotional rollercoaster of hormones bringing as many lows as highs. I must admit, I did secretly hope to have twins because I wanted to have two children eventually, and I had a feeling I was a bit more predestined to get twins as my mom is a twin -did not have anything to do with the fact that I have twins now though-

Anyways, thinking I was having a miscarriage, I went to my OB/GYN and suddenly saw two blinking lights on the screen, I was in heaven! Soon a few people started to warn me about the difficult life that was waiting ahead of me or pointed out that I had taken a crazy decision ... I ignored them all, and selectively listened to the other, significantly larger, group of people who said that twins would be easier than one kid because they will be able to play with each other, right?

I mean, how difficult can parenthood be? In life you need licenses, degrees, certificates, and so on for literally everything! You want to apply for a job, where is your degree? You want to drive a vehicle, where is your license? Even if you can swim 25m you are rewarded with a swimming certificate for the extraordinary challenge you have managed to conquer... you don't need any of these to become a parent, to become responsible for taking care of a baby completely dependent of your care for its survival... so how difficult can it be? Everybody does it around the world. Isn't it the most natural thing ever?

Then, mayhem erupted. This big ego of "I have got this", soon turned into a humble panicky little girl thinking "oh boy, what have I got myself into?" I had the feeling I was thrown in the middle of the ocean with all my clothes on and with no direction where to swim to reach the shore. I have the feeling big waves are coming all the time, allowing me to just take a big breath before I am dragged underwater, desperately fighting to survive and go up again ... every now and then I get a lucky break of just a few seconds, just enough to take another big breath before I go underwater again. A lucky break, just enough to survive a little longer in this wild ocean ... Welcome to my life of the past two years! Cheers!

Very grateful though to have my strong and healthy twins! :)

image.png

P.s. In a meantime I am also taking care of 4 cats -more stories to come-

Sort:  

Double trouble but you'd not send them back right?

I like this line...

I mean, how difficult can parenthood be?

Hmm, easy peasy by the looks of it...But then I don't have any and...Well, I'd say you probably disagree with my assessment right about now. Lol. Although I have some parental advice for you...Hand them on to @artemislives now and then so you can catch a break. I think you might need it, and she won't mind a bit!

I'm interested in the cats stories so will keep an eye on you.

Cos being a solo mama and running a full time business isn't enough and leaves me just soooo much time for babysitting! 😆

I wouldn't mind, in principle, and I think Nele knows if it's ever urgent she can call me. Here in Thailand people take their kids with them most places, and it works great.

Thanks for supporting my newly hiving friend, @galenkp

!ENGAGE 25

Come on, you're supergirl right? Lol. I'm sure you could cope and Nele needs some her-time I think. :)

No worries on the support, I wish her well and hope to see her accelerate.

I started work at 4am today after an 11pm finish last night. Urgh. Supergirl needs a houseboy and some wine soon!! Her time? I think we get that when our kids head off to college. LOL

Nele is a VERY intelligent woman and gonna be a huge asset to Hive!

You need to take a load off then, relax a little. Seems to me like you deserve it.

Thanks for your message @galenkp, but indeed like @artemislives says I also doubt she would have time and energy for it. Twins babies and toddlers are very very intense. I have already taken peace with the fact that I won't have me-time any time soon. Just have to get through it for now ;)

Maybe your me time might have to wait 20 years or so...But try and take a snippet here and there. I think that's something mum's are pretty good at (dad's too), taking micro-moments I mean.

Thank you for your response, I value all commenting and engagement highly. :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Welcome @nellybellie! You've got a great blockchain mentor in @artemislives, and I'm sure the other ladies she mentioned will be a great help getting going, as well. :)

Aaaaw.... I should have added you in my list of ladies to follow. 😘

Posted using Dapplr

Well I'm hit or miss on here as always, so not much to follow sometimes, haha! But happy to sprinkle a little good vibes when I can, especially for some fresh faces on the blockchain.

Thank you so much @plantstoplanks, I am excited about this new blockchain adventure :)

Welcome :D

Welcome to the Hive family @nellybellie! This was a really nice introduction post :)

Parenting definitely is a roller coaster filled with a lot of fun and joy as well as scary moments. I am not a single parent but I am a mother of five who are all close in age. We would have had six but I lost one of my twins four years ago at 12 weeks pregnant. So I have a sense of what you mean about “what did I get myself into”.

There were many times when I didn’t think I would make it through a situation but my mother instincts kicked in and helped me through it. Know that as a mommy you do have those instincts. Your motherly love will kick in and instantly your worrying ceases and you get to work doing what you have to do to take care of your babies.

Your twins are precious and beautiful. As the other ladies mentioned there is a heap of support here for you and so many of us mothers ready to help with any advice or tips from our own experiences. I look forward to reading more about you and journeying with you in this thing we call life and motherhood. 😊

Feel free to reach out anytime ~

Thanks for your reply and kind words @crosheille! I am sorry to hear about the passing of your twin baby, that must have been so devastating! Besides having to deal with your loss, you also had to take care of 4 other kids and one more in your belly, so wow, you are also a super hero mom!

I can also relate to the feeling that you would not be able to make through it. Some days I thought I would die from exhaustion. I am surprised of how strong my body actually is, I would have never imagined I could do all this before I was pregnant. So I strongly believe that moms have special super powers, some dormant power that only becomes activated after becoming a mom ;)

You’re welcome.

Thank you I appreciate that. Yes, it was the most emotional rollercoaster I have ever been on. We were very thankful the surviving twin came out healthy :)

It’s amazing what super powers you find out you have when you become a mommy ~

Hello and welcome to the Hive

I can totally relate - no I don't have twins (though I too thought it would be so cool) but I did have 4 kids in the span of 6 years and when they were younger I had those same thoughts - "What was I thinking?!" haha
It will get easier :D

Your twins are so precious..

Thank you @kaerpediem! Yes, it is the most difficult thing I have ever done in my life. I have underestimated it so much! And waw, 4 kids in 6 years, you are also a mom-hero :D

You did it!!! Yay you!! Amazing mama. @riverflows @traciyork @minismallholding @trucklife-famiiy, Nele is a friend here in Chiang Mai & could use some Hive love & support getting started.

Let the fun begin!!! 💛↗️

Posted using Dapplr

Follow these ladies, learn ask & comment/read/engage. It's such a lovely community here!! Proud of you btw. 😊

Posted using Dapplr

thank you <3

Welcome to HIVE! Thanks for sharing your inspiring story!

Welcome to the Hive community @nellybellie!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Seven suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain and Peaklock,
  3. The owner password is only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once , and
  7. Do Not open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @brittandjosie and @jamerussell from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Hivians available who can help you; you can click to go to The Terminal in Discord here:

Have fun and happy Hiving!

Thanks you so much for the helpful advice @Jamerussell

Wow, a mommy of humans and cats, what could go wrong lol. I love it and I am glad you shared your story here, yes motherhood is the most challenging thing in the world, and that is coming from some dude. Yeah. I believe it.

Haha thank you @joeyarnoldvn soonish after more stories from me you will discover what could go wrong ;) yup, for me its the most challenging i have ever done in my life!

Hi and welcome on the Hive-Blogchain. :-)

Awesome introduction, @nellybellie! Welcome to the Hive community & thank you to @artemislives for the shout out! I'm swamped at the moment, so I apologize for such a brief, "hello" but please feel free to ask any questions as you begin your Hive journey. I'm now following you (are you on Twitter as well?) and will keep an eye out for the promised "more stories." 😊

Thank you @traciyork! I am not on Twitter, but I am also following you as I noticed you are a tarot reader. It is one of my hobbies (- just to read for myself), so I am looking forward to learn from you! Haha, yes yes, soon I will make an introduction post about my cats :D

Welcome to the Hive!
Wow, your life sounds pretty exciting ^^ And the way you've described it was fun to read.
Looking forward to read more of your stories!

Thank you so much @anafae

Loading...

Hey, welcome to Hive! Now we just need to ensure you get addicted, so we get to read those promised stories. There seems to be a theme happening with cats in Thailand and I'm wondering if your cat tales are similar to @artemislives' adoption by cats stories.

Thank you @minismallholding! Haha, soon some cat stories will follow, I am wondering too if they are relatable with @artemislives' experiences :D

Welcome nellybellie!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Download Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com, desktop: https://desktop.ecency.com apps that helps you to connect.
Earn Points to promote and boost your content.
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

Congratulations @nellybellie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!