Sort:  

Well this is different, putting a second comment on a post. But I have had a look at some of your questions.

As steevc has explained as a new user your votes don't have value yet as you don't hold much in the way of stake (Hive Power). It's important now for you to spend time visiting other blogs and getting to know people through leaving thoughtful comments.

Posting and leaving comments uses something called Resource Credits. As a new user you don't have much of a pool of RCs. I just delegated some HP to you to increase the amount of RCs you have available so you can post and comment without running out of credits.

Delegating is sort of like a loan of some HP to help you get established.

As for witnesses, everyone has their preferences. I tend to vote for witnesses I feel are doing good work in the community and I have seen as people who respect the community and the people who create content.

On the Steem chain I was hosting a monthly Witness Chat in my discord The Ramble. It was open to all Witnesses to take part and the community was invited to attend and participate as a way of getting to know the witnesses. The objective was the community members would get a sense of who they wanted to vote for.

I haven't done a chat here yet but I think I will set one up for May.

Currently I have voted witnesses like @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @c0ff33a, @timcliff, @guiltyparties to name a few. I think I have most of my 30 votes filled. I haven't reviewed them since the hardfork that created Hive.

I would be more than happy to attend your May Witness social event on discord, will follow you for more details on the event as it comes up.

Welcome to Hive @timhorton ... and great to see another Canuck onboard. You might want to join the We Are Canadian Eh! community https://peakd.com/c/hive-166399/created

Is your coffeeshop a Timmies? I'm located midway between Toronto and Kingston. Where are you?

Have you discovered Discord yet? There are several communities on there where you can get to know people through chat.

I do not have a discord but it seems alot of Hive users frequent it.

Welcome to Hive! I like my coffee with 3 cream and 3 sugar, and I enjoy my coffee with a warm croissant. I look forward to your #coffee posts :)

Sounds delicious, any baked good is just perfect for a side with your coffee.

Which Hive Witnesses would you recommend?

Welcome to hive 🏅⚡🏅

Welcome to Hive, lovely to have you in our community, the more the merrier.

I will say, while we can be a quirky/odd community sometimes, I'd be no other place than here, the people who I've met, I feel I could have met no other place. There's such a variety of people and prettymuch everyone is down-to-earth and always willing to talk. I've made a lot of friends here, including people from all walks of life all over the world.

It's weird, but it's home.

Thanks for joining us,
~ CA

P.S. Forgive me, but I don't take Coffee. I'm British so I enjoy my Tea 😂

Tea is also great, I enjoy both 😁

I laughed at the reference "North Korea of Blockchains" while reading up on the Justin Sun controversy.

LOL, That's one way to describe it, I guess.

Have a great day.
~ CA

Welcome to Hive! I like coffee with a little sugar.

Which Hive Witnesses would you reccommend?

Almost all of Hive's witnesses fought against Justin Sun to preserve Steem's decentralization. Thanks again to them!

All of them deserve to be voted, but we only have 30 votes. The top witnesses managed to develop Hive and they deserve thankfulness. However, Hive must also remain decentralized, so I support a maximum of small witnesses who are not in the top 20. Sometimes the reason is just because I had an interaction with the witness.

Small witnesses I support
@neoxian The City is the place to be and the best Discord server
@dsound music is not enough visible on Hive
@mahdiyari provides steem-js, answered me
@steemitboard, @qurator, @dpoll.witness, @stem.witness for the project
@nextgencrypto cause @berniesanders fought for decentralization and answered me
@cadawg, @gerber, @klye helped me or answered me
@helo, @puncakbukit voted for me
@guiltyparties provides a full node
@steemychicken1 for fighting
@disregardfiat, @veteranforcrypto, @steemitportugal , @heretickitten, @jamzed, @birdinc, @hagie to support smallest witnesses for decentralization

Top 20 witnesses I support
@netuoso answered me
@arcange voted for me
@blocktrades provides the best exchange
@anyx provides an API endpoint
@steempeak provides the best front-end Peakd.com
@drakos provides Hivekings
@aggroed, @jesta for fighting and working hard on Hive

You can set me as proxy for witness voting if you are lazy and you trust me :P

Thank you @droida

Wow, thanks @droida. Your votes and support are much appreciated and I can't say I expected this by any means, but I am flattered that you choose me to help decentralise hive.

Hive on.
~ CA

Decentralize by sharing the rewards pool with us by upvoting these posts, correct?

Thank you for your unfailing support @droida, really appreciated!

Thanks for the honourable mention and continued support!

You're welcome. Thanks for decentralizing and securing Hive.

Welcome timhorton!
Esteem is mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Download Android: https://android.esteem.app, iOS: https://ios.esteem.app, desktop: https://desktop.esteem.app apps that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as ESTM token.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Thanks, why are my upvotes not worth anything 😓

You have no Hive Power. That is what gives your votes value and without it you will not be able to post much. You can buy some or just take what your posts earn. Try to build a following. How did you create your account?

As a new user it helps if you can verify your identity. That could be with a video saying who you are. Maybe show us your coffee shop, but I expect business has been hit by the lockdown.

Which Hive Witnesses do you reccommend?

Government pandemic.

Which Hive Witnesses do you reccommend?