Introducing @Unschool

in #introduceyourself4 years ago (edited)

Hello from Canada

So here I am on Hive now. I thought I'd make a post I never took the time to do back when I was on Steem. I am a Canadian Father of three beautiful boys and married to the prettiest wife ever. We live in the French eastern part of Canada called Quebec and we speak both French and English since they are the two official languages here.

We are currently affected, like pretty much everyone else, from the coronavirus threat. Staying at home with 3 kids isn't particularly easy but we do our best.
image.png

Unschooling

Two years ago we started homeschooling, hence the username. It really helps us during the current crisis. Since our kids are already accustomed to being taught at home, they didn't see much of a change in the last weeks or so. We just stopped going to unschoolers meetings. That's the part they dislike the most because they were just starting to make friends and now they don't see each other anymore.

I'm lucky to be able to work from home being a software developer, so that's great news money-wise. How long I'll be able to continue, nobody knows but I can't complain for now. My wife is awesome with the kids! She used to be a teacher but became a full-time mommy at home for their own good.

Government taught

My eldest went to school until grade 2, my wife decided at that time she was willing to leave her job behind and become a mom at home. School wasn't particularly bad, but we thought giving love away was more important than raising little workers. We didn't even decide yet if we will send our kids to secondary school, we'll see by that time...

My youngest never went to school, and he's pretty ok with it. He's asking questions and we answer them. I think they don't know yet how lucky they are, and I hope one day they realize.

So that's @unschool in a short story, follow us for more :)
Sort:  

Oh Canada! Nice to see another Canadian here on HIVE

image.png

Welcome on board or on board here? :)

Hey there, unschool, nice to meet you here on Hive! Mad respect for you homeschooling the kids. After 2 weeks in Lockdown, I've drawn the conclusion that as soon as schools open again, I will be happy to see the kids education in more professional hands than mine.

I suppose everyone has different talents, and being a teacher to my kids isn't one of mine :)

You are better than what you think :) Your kids need you, not "professionals".

Well, considering my kids share some of my DNA, they are notoriously inclined to not respect their teachers...

That's a plus in my book haha. Challengers are good at learning fast.

When I help them with their projects, it feels more like it's learning time for me. People have told me that patience is a virtue all my life, but no one has taught me more patience than my kids.

It's good to meet you. Thank you for taking the time out to introduce yourself. I hope your unschooling journey is a good one. It's hard to know whether they will appreciate the benefits of homeschooling if they never experience the other side or remember that experience. I hope they do, though.

Yes, I know! The important thing for us is that they enjoy it while it lasts. If at any point we feel like they'd be better off in school we will make the move.

Nice one! I like how you don't do a big wave on this loving/working thing. Well, might me worth to look for Leandre Bergeron and family for living in your "neighborhood". Would be so nice to have some of them on the Hive. ;-) !invest_vote !COFFEEA !TEA !LOVE @tipu curate