Letter to Jack Dorsey - Decentralized

in #jackdorsey4 years ago (edited)

jackdorseyletter.png

Hi Jack,

I was pleased to learn about your new project bluesky and actions Twitter is taking to push forward decentralized open internet. Your ideas and actions regarding decentralized standards are admirable, especially in comparison to actions the other social media giant Facebook and Zuckerburg has taken with their approach to blockchain and cryptocurrency technologies. While you could have built your own blockchain and/or cryptocurrency, create your own coalitions, and acquire other projects you have chosen to make it truly transparent and decentralized without any ambitions of control.

I only use Twitter to consume relevant content and don't actively participate or tweet. I don't use Facebook at all. My choice of social media is Steem. Speaking of Steem, I think you would find it interesting because of your interest in bitcoin and decentralization. Steem does to social media and the internet what bitcoin does to traditional financial institutions. It simply offers a decentralized alternative with hopes of empowering ordinary people. It does have some flaws. As you have mentioned it takes years to build a truly decentralized social media and/or standards that do work.

I am not trying to make a pitch for you to by Steemit Inc, the largest stakeholder on Steem or even invest in Steem. Part of me would want that, so the value of my stakes rises up. However, I do like your approach of just funding developers and the project that nobody has control and build awesome decentralized standards and potentially a blockchain of which Twitter and others can be part of or clients of. If you really want to buy some Steem I would not try to stop you. Go for it.

So, you chose to back bitcoin instead of trying to create your own coin/token as Zuckerburg is trying to do with Libra. This shows me how genuinely committed you are to the decentralized financial systems and open-source money of the internet. This makes of think of Square, another great project of yours. I have used it in the past, it was a smooth experience. I am talking about the little device you attach to a tablet and accept payments. I have been considering to use the cash app, didn't get a chance to. But I will. I really like the efforts of bringing bitcoin to masses.

I also liked your recent decision not to run and make money off political ads. Once again this shows how superior the leadership at Twitter is compared to Facebook, who decided not just to go blind on the obvious spread of lies and misinformation but to make a lot of money running them. It is clear to me FB is determined to play people and keep enriching themselves while doing so.

You are a true innovator. Thank you for everything you are doing to bring decentralization to the internet, building better standards, supporting developers, empowering ordinary people, etc. I know the chances of this letter reaching you are very low. This is a decentralized global platform. Who knows one day it might. There are only six degrees of separation. Yes, I know I could have probably just tweeted you. I prefer Steem. Decentralized, and more.

Talk to you soon,

GG

Sort:  

@geekgirl if you have shared the post on other social media, could you put the link in the comments? Cheers

Hi @theycallmedan! Currently, I do not post or share on social media other than Steem. It looks like @lanzjoseg and @yogajill have tweeted my post/letter on Twitter. Here are the links:

~~~ embed:1206052258892267520 twitter metadata:eW9nYWppbGx8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20veW9nYWppbGwvc3RhdHVzLzEyMDYwNTIyNTg4OTIyNjc1MjB8 ~~~

Dear @geekgirl

This open letter is definitely a good summary of the feeling of many that we can see the reach that Steem has as a social network, but the approach that Jack wants to give is better than that of many in open source tednology.
He is taking a good step and with this consolidates his excellent application.

I am a frequent twitter user and in view of that I will re-twitter this post.

Greetings from Venezuela.

Yes I like the approach. Thank you.

Have you heard about the elevator pitch contest? 🤓

Nice post. Following with interest.

Hi @novacadian! Yes I have seen that contest. Thank you.

Shared on twitter... which seems like the right thing to do!

Thank you!

Great post! 💗 I'll share on my Twitter account.

Nice job! While I don't think it will get immediate attention, I love that you did it

Thank you!

Congratulations @geekgirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 350 posts. Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!