The Great Wagyu Bacon Cheeseburger

in #japan3 years ago (edited)

Great Burger Stand.jpeg

The art of hamburgers has really taken off over the past 10 years in Japan. Granted, Japan has alway had a lot of burger joints, but with the craft beer boom starting 20 years ago it was only natural that craft burgers would follow.

So you want to know what is the best burger I have had in Tokyo is? Hands down it's the Great Wagyu Bacon Cheeseburger at The Great Burger Stand in Shibuya.

IMG_8292 (1).jpg

I'll be honest, when I first saw it on the menu I wasn't sure if I would like it. Wagyu just didn't seem like it belonged in a hamburger. It has a unique flavor and I'm used to it melting in my mouth from places like Jiro Maru. It just seemed like the cheapening of the best beef you can buy, but I was so wrong.

Immediately after the first bite the wagyu flavor is front and center. While you can taste the bacon(ham not American bacon) and other ingredients, it's the wagyu that stands out. After all who has had wagyu in a hamburger before?

After that first bite this was my reaction.

antonio-banderas-reaction-gif.gif

It was perfection! But, I had to be sure so I washed out my mouth with a nice Corona and went in for the second bite.

IMG_8291 (1).jpg

Yup, same incredible flavor, except this time I noticed some of the other complexities. For example the bun. Apparently they make the buns themselves and put a mystery glaze on top. The bun is very light and has a unique flavor itself.

The cheese is cheddar, the only cheese that belongs on a burger, fight me.

Oh, and did I mention the hickory mayonnaise? Are you drooling yet?

This burger will only set you back $20, which is very reasonably priced considering it's Shibuya and Wagyu. Trust me, it's worth it. If however you'd prefer just a Wagyu Burger they've got that too. In fact, they have several variations of the burger and an English menu.

IMG_7452.jpg

I'm a creature of habit though so every time I've been there I've gotten the same thing. It never disappoints.

IMG_7454 (1).jpg

The Great Burger Stand is located on the south, east side of Shibuya station in the new Shibuya Stream complex. The address is Japan, 〒150-0002 Tokyo, Shibuya City, Shibuya, 3 Chome−21−3 渋谷ストリーム 1F.

IMG_7448.jpg

If your ever in town looking for a place to eat, I'll meet you down at The Great Burger Stand and talk your ear off about how this area used to be old buildings, a club I used to DJ at and the elevated train that went to Daikanyama. Cheers!

IMG_7453.jpg

Can't forget the dessert.

EDIT: It seems The Great Burger Stand is having financial difficulties because of COVID. They are asking for help from the public so if you are in town, definitely check them out! https://camp-fire.jp/projects/view/364454

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @bahagia-arbi on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png