Governors & Kings

in #jesus2 years ago

Pilate: "Are you the king of the Jews?"

Christ: "Is that your own idea or did others talk to you about me? My kingdom is not of this world. If it were, my servants would fight to prevent my arrest by the Jews. But now my kingdom is from another place."

Pilate: "You are a king, then!"

Christ: "Yes, it is as you say. You are right in saying I am a king. In fact, for this reason I was born, and for this I came into the world, to testify to the truth. Everyone on the side of truth listens to me."

Pilate: "What is truth?"

image.png

Pilate's Wife: "Don't have anything to do with that innocent man, for I have suffered a great deal today in a dream because of him."

image.png
"Do you want me to release 'the king of the Jews?' Which one do you want me to release to you: Barabbas, or Jesus who is called Christ? What shall I do with Jesus who is called Christ? What crime has he committed?"

"No, not him! Give us Barabbas! Crucify! Crucify! Take him away! Take him away! If you let this man go, you are no friend of Caesar. Anyone who claims to be a king opposes Caesar."

Pilate: "Where do you come from? Do you refuse to speak to me? Don't you realize I have power either to free you or to crucify you?"
Christ: "You would have no power over me if it were not given to you from above. Therefore the one who handed me over to you is guilty of a greater sin."

Pilate took water and washed his hands in front of the crowd.
"I am innocent of this man's blood. It is your responsibility!"

~"Let his blood BE ON US AND ON OUR CHILDREN!"~

image.png

"Hail, king of the Jews!"

image.png
They blindfolded him and demanded "PROPHECY! Who hit you?"

"You who are going to destroy the temple and build it in three days, save yourself! Come down from the cross if you are the Son of God!"

~"He saved others, but he cannot save himself!" ~

"He's the King of Israel! Let him come down now from the cross and we will believe in him. He trusts in God. Let God rescue him now if he wants him!"

image.png

"Aren't you the Christ? Save yourself and us!"
"Don't you fear God since you are under the same sentence? We are punished justly, for we are getting what our deeds deserve. But this man has done nothing wrong. Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom."
"I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise."

The chief priests of the Jews said to Pilate, "Write not, 'The King of the Jews' but that he SAID, 'I am King of the Jews.'

Pilate answered, "What I have written I have written."

image.png