Coronavirus Pattern Fixed!

in #jewelry4 years ago

Certain types of features don't print reliably at all - cylinders, depending on the orientation, and spheres. The first time I printed a wax pattern for my coronavirus pendant, most of the spike proteins were messed up, including the one with a hole through it for a chain. Therefore, I doubled up the supports and made the touch points thinner in PreForm (meanwhile, Formlabs is making even smaller supports in their latest version of the software; are they that out-of-touch, or am I just that unlucky?). The second attempt had all but one of the s-proteins come out perfectly, and the one that didn't can be fixed - I think.

DSC_0066.JPG

As before, the clip of post-processing this model is up on my SubscribeStar page. I've also made several changes to the page itself, and moved the funding of a gas-fired crucible furnace to the top of my goals. For anyone who chooses to fund my latest piece of equipment, you'll get discounts on custom work in the future, including jewellery.