jewish cuisine #1 Cholent, the king of Shabat - Recipe in pictures by steps

in #jewishcuisine6 years ago (edited)

One pot is enough for a whole meal and the whole family. Just throw everything in and wait. Cholent is a dish that you not waiting for, the cholent is waiting for you until you are ready for it.

The origin of the name Cholent comes from Latin and is meant to be hot. The cholent is prepared on Friday and it cooks in a low heat for many hours, until it is eaten on Saturday at noon.

Because cholent is a traditional and domestic dish, the recipe usually goes from parent to child and remains as it has been for generations. My grandmother and my parents did not cook cholent themselves, so I invented my own version of Chont, which I came to after many trials.

So here's my version of Cholent:


Fry onions in a large pot


Add beans and barley and stir


Place the meat in a pile over the beans


Place the potatoes around the meat in two layers


Above all, there is kishke and eggs


Mix the spices with water, and pour into the pot until the height covers most of the potatoes


The water in this pot is a little too high


Boil the dish on the stove and put in an oven that will cook for at least 16 hours in low heat


list of ingredients:

Two white onions

A cup of beans

A handful of barley

1/2 - 1 kilo of meat (I use an Argentinian Asado or osso buco, the bone inside adds to the taste and texture)

Potatoes

Kishka

Whole cloves of garlic

Eggs


Salt, pepper, sweet paprika, sugar and a little cinnamon.


Three weeks in a row tried to take a picture of Cholent ready, but by the time I got the camera to the table, it was all gone. After three times I gave up. There was only a picture of a plate left over.



Sort:  

Looks yummy but very heavy. Prospective eaters should also consider the possible side effects of all these legumes :)

Because of the side effects, we do cholent only on Shabbat. That's also why on Sunday I work from home ... not to be near people.

One way to get around it is to dip the beans in cold water for at least 24 hours prior to the cooking ( changing to clean water every 8 hours or so ) , and all those "side effects" will vanish :-)

@windforce
Also it will dissolve all those enzyme inhibitors that hurt the digestion, soaking and rinsing is practically a necessity when dealing with legumes

Irish people may come together in a bar, but the Israeli Steemians are united by Jewish food
:P :P :P

ha ha ha
food unite us

Thank you for this post, I haven't heard of this dish! I'm a cultural Jew who's parents didn't really bring much tradition into our lives so I'm always trying to glean pieces of information about delicious food and meaningful traditions. Thank you!

Follow me then, i'll post my recipes as a jew from spanish and french origins :-)

I'm already following. You will also publish the recipes with a tag of jewishcuisine that will have more content.

I will. I prepared an Adafina for tonight ( it's like the Tchulent but from Spanish Jews). I uses a recipe that is from a very specific area - from Tetouan ( northern morocco). Was lazy to photo and build a post from it, will do it next time :-)

Thank you.
It makes me happy to know that my posts help someone, and touch-sensitive places, even if it's just a recipe. If you're interested in other Jewish recipes, follow me or check the jewishcuisine tag occasionally to see more posts like that.

Thank you, I am following and will certainly keep an eye on your blog!

It's actually recipes and not receipts (in the tags). Also, I am now hungry again. Reading your blog will make fat. FYI.

Lol, keep an eye on my posts then, i'm sure you're gonna like it. In the meantime, i just posted a while back my recipe for a super easy yet extremely successful mushroom risotto...

Just realized I was not following you and that's just not right. Mea culpa.

Wot? You hootzpatic techslut, can't believe this!!
Seriously, you didn't miss much, didn't have time besides some witness updates and the like, but now that you're following me i'll start by posting my recipe for Spanish Tortilla, which means "Spanish Omelette". Easy one, and very tasty...

ראיתי את המתכון לריזוטו, מתה לנסות אותו אבל לא אהיה בבית בשבועיים הקרובים. יש דרך לשמור פוסטים אהובים בסטימאיט, שאוכל לחזור למתכון מתישהו?

יש אפשרות לעשות את זה בביזי, אבל מאחר וסטימאיט קקי, אני פשוט שומרת בסימניות כמו בימי קדם

interesting and delicious.. very nice work . congrats my friend love it :)

הי סחטיין ! איזה פוסט מושקע ... לפני כמה ימים פרסמתי גם פוסט על חמין אבל בלי מתכון
https://steemit.com/food/@brigitte0659/hot-food-for-a-wintery-weekend-hamin-dish