BJJ Training Journal - 4/28/21 - Leg Day in more ways than one!

in #jiujitsu3 years ago

bjj.jpg

Yesterday was my leg day on the weights. I did the leg press with the entire stack and got 15 good clean reps and immediately followed up with 15 reps of calf raises.

The thing that made it more than just a leg lifting day was the work I put in kicking.

I hit the bag with full power and speed. My left side kick is slowly coming back to the form of my youth. I cannot get the height any longer but I still do a lot of stretching. My right side kick is still lagging my left but it is better than when I was in my 20's because I would rarely kick with my right leg.

While I don't have the speed, power, and flexibility of my youth I am convinced that the fighter I am in my 60's would KO or submit the 20 year old version of me. I am way more versatile and can fight orthodox and southpaw.

I hope I can keep it up into my 70's.