JustOneThing - A Comparison Of My Hive Productivity, April-July 2021 and 2022

in #justonething2 years ago

comparison.jpg

College term finished for me yesterday. I had four classes and in each one there was a mixture of getting the last assignments and presentations done and dusted followed by some games and snacks (similar to what was going on in class in my previous blog post:
https://peakd.com/justonething/@hirohurl/justonething-a-disagreement-over-who-will-win--teacher-vs-students ).

So today I want to look back at my blog output during the spring/summer terms of 2022 and 2021 and make a comparison.

I expected to find that I had published a lot more blog posts during college term this year than last year, but I was surprised that the difference was less than I expected.

I didn't think I had posted very much between 9th April 2021 (the first day of college term) and 30th July 2021 (the last day of college term), but in fact I published 31 blog posts in that time.

3 Steps No Excuses

What I had forgotten is that during the spring holidays last year I started the #3stepsnoexcuses 30 Day Challenge that was launched by @jongolson to support the Plus1Success.com project. That project carried over into the first few days of the spring term, "forcing" me to keep pumping out content!

I completed the 30 Day Challenge on 19th April and felt pretty pleased with myself for having done so:

https://peakd.com/ctp/@hirohurl/3stepsnoexcuses-i-made-it-to-day-30

"Just One Thing" Is Born

Inspired by the 3 Steps challenge, @robwillmann created a hive account dedicated to practising the idea of completing @threesteps and following the Plus1Success project every day.

I didn't think I could do that much during college term (even though I know other people who work harder than I do, also get more done on Hive in their free time, but to each his own)...

So I came up with the idea of doing "just one thing" every day!

Even that proved to be too much after a while and the project petered out after a few days... only to be revived by myself a year later, and improved upon by @russellstockley who added the idea of a prompt word and created the community page.

So How Did I Do This Term?

Thanks to the inspiration provided by Russell's daily prompt words I was able to pump out 64 blog posts from the beginning of term on 12th April 2022 to the end of term, 29th July 2022.

It was fun to try and find a way to blog about whatever word it was that Russell challenged us with. Some words brought back memories of my childhood, others had historical or literary associations, and yet others I could adapt to whatever was happening in my life at that moment.

The post that yielded the biggest Hive reward was one about my approach to Shakespeare:

https://peakd.com/hive-101679/@hirohurl/justonething-talking-about-my-approach-to-shakespearean-drama

Spring Term Blogging 2021 and 2022: A Comparison

Spring Term
Duration
Posts
Publication Rate
Hive Accumulation
2021
113 days
31
0.274 (1 post every 3.64 days)
2022
109 days
64
0.587 (1 post every 1.70 days)
+/- 144

I'm very pleased with the improvement in my productivity on Hive this year. I know there were some weeks in which very little got done, but in other weeks I was able to maintain inspiration, focus and energy enough to publish on several consecutive days.

I'm also quite pleased that I published more than I realized back in the spring term of 2021.

Now the summer holidays are here, I'm hoping to keep publishing here on PeakD and also improve my online business, of which Hive and Listnerds are important parts.

Cheers!

David Hurley

#JustOneThing
#InspiredFocus

P. S. Anybody can take the 3StepsNoExcuses challenge any time. First of all, download the free Plus1Success ebook and then watch the daily video on the free Plus1Success website for the next 30 days, follow through on it and report on your progress using the #3StepsNoExcuses and #CTP hashtags for maximum response from the community.

https://plus1success.com/hirohurl

Sort:  

Fantastic to see you improve your productivity on Hive with Just One Thing David, it's a nice and simple concept, keep up the good work and stay awesome.



Made in Canva

!ALIVE
!CTP

- @flaxz - Admin/Moderator


This post is AWESOME!
It will therefore be highlighted in our daily Curated Collections posting for today.
The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Hive ecosystem by rewarding it".

Source

Thank you for the support and encouragement!

!CTP

Stay awesome David.



Made in Canva

- @flaxz - Admin/Moderator

@hirohurl! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @thisisawesome. (4/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Yes, not a bad productivity, though!
!ALIVE
!CTP

@hirohurl! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @stdd. (10/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I'm quite pleased with how things went in the classroom and on Hive this term!

!CTP
!ALIVE

@stdd! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hirohurl. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Great job @hirohurl keep up the awesome progress of being productive have the best weekend 😎

Made in Canva
!ALIVE

- @benthomaswwd - Moderator


This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #AliveAndThriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving.

Thank you for curating another of my posts in quick succession! Nice. :)

!CTP
!ALIVE

@aliveandthriving! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hirohurl. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

You are most welcome have the best day
@hirohurl 😎

Made in Canva
!ALIVE

- @benthomaswwd - Moderator

@hirohurl! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (13/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

@hirohurl! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (5/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thanks for sharing on Listnerds
@hirohurl !ALIVE
!CTP
!LOL

@hirohurl! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @benthomaswwd. (13/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

What does a painter do when he gets cold?
He puts on another coat

Credit: reddit
@hirohurl, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @benthomaswwd
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(2/4)

Great improvement in your productivity! Nice work.

Thank you!

!CTP
!ALIVE

@mypathtofire! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hirohurl. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I always look forward to your posts so I am glad you are doing more. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @rcaine :)

!CTP
!ALIVE

@rcaine! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hirohurl. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.