JustOneThing - A Disagreement Over Who Will Win ... Teacher vs Students!

in #justonething2 years ago

chessdisagreement.jpg

It was the last day of term at one of my college gigs and the four first year students (2 Japanese, 1 Filipina, 1 Vietnamese) in my TOEIC class had all worked diligently, achieved 100% attendance, and finished the course with one class to spare...

So we all agreed to have a chess party on the last day to celebrate their success!

Homework: Study Chess!

None of the students had played chess before, so "homework" for the week was to learn how to play chess. I gave them some online resources and left them to it.

I expected the 90 minutes of class time to divide into three parts, with the first 10-20 minutes spent on going over the basics. Next we would play a "simul" in which I would play against all four students on four boards at the same time, which I thought would finish within 30 minutes. Lastly, as I thought, the students would play a series of student-versus-student games to find a student champion who would receive a prize!

In the last section, the students would play using chess clocks, with 5 minutes each on the clocks and no increments. (Usually, in that scenario, the winner is the student who realizes that fast play is the key, and wins because her opponents all lose on time.)

It took me longer than I expected...

In the end, it took me longer than I expected to defeat all four students. It turned out that the young lady in the blue dress had put in quite a bit of preparation and proved harder to beat than I had expected!

So what was the disagreement?

Simply this: When I said that nobody would beat me, the Filipina student immediately disagreed and asserted that she would win!

The Vietnamese student had already joked that she was a profeshional player. Yeah, right! There we have another disagreement!

At the beginning of the class, when I was talking about what we were doing, I made a short video where you can hear the "disagreement" about who will win:

YouTube Shorts:

Cheers!

David Hurley

#JustOneThing

#InspiredFocus

Follow me on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/hirohurl

Follow me on TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@top5programs

Check out my chess blog: https://easychesstips.com

Sort:  

Interesting experiment! Will the girl in the blue dress win?) !LOLZ
!ALIVE

@hirohurl! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @stdd. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I could get in trouble for stealing from the kitchen supply store
But that’s a whisk I’m willing to take.

Credit: reddit
@hirohurl, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @stdd
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(2/2)

Nice to see you have students who like chess. I played this evening too.

They've only just learnt to play and we had a blast - they are a super-positive and engaged bunch!

How did you do in your games? Have you joined any of the Hive chess tournament?

!CTP
!ALIVE

That sounds cool David!

I play one or two of the hive tournaments a week. I won a couple of games yesterday but some of the players are really good. I need to work on my sicilian defence!

I might have a look at a hive tournament over the summer holidays. I live in Japan and the time difference means I'd have to play in the early hours of the morning...

!CTP
!ALIVE

@mypathtofire! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hirohurl. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

That would be cool to have a game sometime David. Hoepfully the time difference might work out. Are you on Lichess?

https://lichess.org/team/the-blockchain-chess-team

@mypathtofire! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hirohurl. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Great job buddy you clearly have a great relationship with your students have the best day. @hirohurl 😎
!ALIVE
!BBH
I will be including this content on the @heartbeatonhive curation collection

hboh (250 × 250 px).png

@hirohurl! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @heartbeatonhive. (4/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you Ben - I had a great couple of days teaching a bunch of classes (and getting paid to play quite a bit of chess as well!) at that college this week. 😄

I appreciate the inclusion in the heartbeatonhive curation collection too. 😎

!CTP
!ALIVE

@heartbeatonhive! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hirohurl. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

Wow, it must have been fun playing with with newbies to the chess game.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more