JustOneThing: Back from my Summer Holiday in Nagasaki

in #justonething2 years ago (edited)

JustOneThing prompt = holiday

Just got back from a short holiday trip to Nagasaki where my daughter is at university. We met for lunch in Nagasaki and caught a ferry to Iojima, an island just off the coast of Nagasaki, in Kyushu, Japan.

I took the top photo from our hotel window. The ferry dropped us off at the wharf you can see in the photo so it was a short stroll over a bridge to our hotel.

I posted some pics of our holiday on Liketu - I'm still learning about the new platform and how to get the most out of it. In this post I will share the images of the holiday trip that I posted on Liketu. I took a lot more photos that I want to share, but I'm assuming it's better to drip them out than to post a whole bunch all at once or in quick succession.

So here's a selection of the photos I've posted so far:

This church is located just up the road from our hotel and can be clearly seen from the ferry as you approach the harbour. We strolled up to have a closer look at it. In the photo you can see the wife and daughter peering inside as the church was shut (apparently because the sword of Saint Michael, to whom the church is dedicated is not equal to the power of Coronavirus).

The hotel we were staying at had a whole bunch of bicycles that residents can hop onto and ride off without needing to rent or unlock or anything. Just get on and pedal away. So we decided to cycle across the island to visit the lighthouse.

The wife and daughter selected power-assisted electric bikes, but I stubbornly opted for an ordinary five gear bicycle. Everything was fine until we hit the hill that leads up to the lighthouse. As the wife and daughter effortlessly pedalled up and away into the distance, there was I struggling to make any progress at all and dripping with sweat in the intense heat of the day...

At first I thought the problem was with the bicycle. I had not bothered to raise the seat so I couldn't get any purchase on the pedals when I needed to. It soon became evident that there was no energy in my legs! I had spent too long in the suana and spa just before we decided to hop on the bikes and charge off to the lighthouse. It was madness really, to attempt those two activities in quick succession, and not even to think about carrying any liquid refreshment.

Huffing and puffing, I pushed my bike up to the top in a state of shock that my legs had given out so quickly. When I got to the top, this is the scene that met my eyes:

And this is the view from in front of the lighthouse:

Just behind the swing there was a little serve-yourself cafe with free drinks. It was shut when we got there, but as we returned from the lighthouse we noticed that it was open. Inside, there was a little fridge full of jugs of free "Aquarius" sport rehydration drink, so I gulped half a jugful down the hatch and was ready for the much more enjoyable ride down the hill and around to a fine beach... which I will tell you about in my next post once I've dripped out some more photos to Liketu!

Cheers!

David Hurley
#JustOneThing
#InspiredFocus

P. S. Check out my pics and follow me on Liketu @ https://liketu.com/@hirohurl

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!