#Justonething - Haircut

in #justonething2 years ago

The #JustOneThing initiative is designed to inspire a theme for daily posts in an effort to help people post daily. Today the theme is HAIRCUT

barber.jpg
Image by Lorendiz Gonzalez from Pixabay

The story I am about to tell is true as far as I know. I was to young to remember this but am relating the story as told to me many times by my parents.

I was a few months older than 3 when I overheard my parents talking about me needing a haircut. The year was 1950 so life was much more idyllic than it is today.

We lived with my grandmother at the time. Her house was about 1/2 mile from High Street. The main north/south street in Columbus, Ohio. The barbershop was on High Street a couple of hundred yards from where her street met High Street. There were no streets to cross to get to the barbershop just 2 alleys.

Hearing my parents say I needed a haircut, I decided I would go get one. As far as I know my walk to the barbershop was uneventful because I arrive without a problem. This was the barbershop my father and I always used so they knew me.

Just before my haircut was done my father arrived. He was in a panic I was told and now I can understand why. He asks the barber about getting paid. The barber said, "I just figured you would pay me the next time you came in."

I don't remember getting in any trouble. I am sure I got a "don't do that again" lecture. What I do remember is my parents telling this story to friends for many years.

I hoped you enjoyed this glimpse into my childhood.

See You At The Bank,
Bob Caine

Me-and-dogs-veryverysmall.jpg

Sort:  

A very independent boy for his age, but they must have been scared because they didn't know where you were. Greetings from Maracaibo.

I was told they were getting disparate when my father decided to check out the barbershop. Thanks for your comment.

You were an assertive child - just getting things done - no delay. I can imagine the distress for your parents though - not being sure where you were. Luckily all ended well.

Yes, my parents were a little panicked I have been told. Thanks for your comment.

Ah the good old days, when you could walk into the barber and get a haircut and put it on the "tab". !LOLZ

Why did the elevator move into the apartment building?
He wanted to take up residence.

Credit: reddit
@rcaine, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @ironshield
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ.
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/6)

Yes they were the good old days. Thanks for reading my posts.

The mind of a child is a mysterious and magical place. One where you are able to do whatever you want, as long as you get away with it.
Funny how times have changed. The barber didn't think twice about cutting your hair, lol
Good story, Bob!

The times have changed a lot not in a good way. Thanks for your comment.

wonderful story,

Thank you for your comment.

hehe nice one Bob!